Magazine article New Internationalist

The Unit

Magazine article New Internationalist

The Unit

Article excerpt

The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist translated from the Swedish by Marlaine Delargy (Oneworld, ISBN 9781851687442)

Ninni Holmqvist's début novel is a dystopia in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Marge Piercy. It is set in a near-future Sweden where society is divided into 'necessary' individuals, who have produced offspring and who work in productive jobs, and so-called 'dispensable' people. Dispensable women over the age of 50 and men over 60 are sent to live in The Unit, a hermetically sealed community. Here they live apparently idyllic lives, their every need provided for and with ample access to creative endeavours.

Into this community comes Dorrit, a single, childless woman, whose profession and age decree a future spent in The Unit. Dorrit accepts her lot and initially she finds the regime congenial; she makes friends and values the stress-free nature of her days. However, the Faustian nature of the pact the dispensables have made gradually becomes clear; in exchange for unlimited creature comforts, they have agreed to donate their organs for transplantation into the necessary ones. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.