Academy Salutes Sci-Tech Achievements

Article excerpt

This year's Academy Awards for Scientific and Technical Achievement were handed out in a Feb. 20 ceremony hosted by actress Elizabeth Banks. The star of the evening, however, turned out to be the digital-intermediate process - awards were presented for nearly every aspect of the process.

Here is a list of the winners;

Technical Achievement Awards

(Academy Certificates presented for accomplishments that contribute to the progress of the industry)

Mark Wolforth and Tony Sedivy, for their contributions to the development of the Truelight reai-time 3-D LLfT hardware system. Through the use of color-management software and hardware, this system enables accurate color presentation in the DI preview process.

Dr. Klaus Anderle, Christian Baeker and Frank Billasch, for their contributions to the Luther 3-D LUT hardware device and color-management software. Luther was one of the first color LUT processors widely adopted by Dl facilities. This innovation enabled accurate color presentation by facilities that had analyzed projected film output and built 3-D LUTs to emulate print film.

Steve Sullivan, Kevin Wooley, Brett Allen and Colin Davidson, for the development of the lmocap on-set performance-capture system. Developed at Industrial Light & Magic, lmocap successfully addresses the need for on-set, low-impact performance capture.

Hayden Landis, Ken McGaugh and Hilmar Koch, for advancing the technique of ambient occlusion rendering. Ambient occlusion has enabled a new level of realism in synthesized imagery and has become a standard tool for CG lighting in mot/on pictures.

Björn Hedén, for the design and mechanical engineering of the silent, twostage planetary friction drive Hedén Lens Motors. Solving a series of problems with one integrated mechanism, this device had an immediate, significant impact on the industry.

Scientific and Engineering Awards

(Academy plaques presented for achievements that exhibit a high levei of engineering and are important to the progress of the industry)

Per Christensen, Michael Bunnell and Christophe Hery, for the development of point-based rendering for indirect illumination and ambient occlusion. Faster than previous ray-traced methods, this computer-graphic technique has enabled color-bleeding effects and realistic shadows for complex scenes.

Dr. Richard Kirk, for the overall design and development of the Truelight reai-time 3-D LUT hardware device and color-management software.

Volker Massmann, Markus Hasenzahl, Dr. Klaus Anderle and Andreas Loew, for the development of the Spirit 4K/2K film-scanning system. The Spirit 4K/2K has distinguished itself by incorporating a continuous-motion transport mechanism, enabling full-range, highresolution scanning at much higher frame rates than non-continuous transport scanners. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.