Magazine article Screen International

China's Aftershock Wins APSA for Best Feature

Magazine article Screen International

China's Aftershock Wins APSA for Best Feature

Article excerpt

Other winners include Poetry and Lebanon.

When Aftershock director Feng Xiaogang tonight accepted the best feature award at the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSAs), he dedicated it to the people left dead from the 1976 Tangshan earthquake in China.

The natural disaster is the backdrop to this emotional family drama, which he said has grossed $100m in its home market of China. Aftershock, which scored the most nominations, also earned Chen Daoming the award for best actor.

Two other Chinese films won their categories: animated film Piercing I and documentary Last Train Home, a co-production with Canada.

Another big winner was the Korean film Poetry. Yun Jung-hee came out of retirement to play the lead role and her performance earned her the best actress award and Lee Chang-dong topped the category for direction.

Lee had won two APSAs previously, for Secret Sunshine and A Brand New Life, and this evening it was also announced that he was one of the recipients of the four $25,000 script development grants, sponsored by the Motion Picture Association, and one of the first tangible benefits of being a member of the APSA Academy, which is for all past nominees and judges.

The other recipients were Asghar Farhadi (About Elly), Peng Tao (Little Moth) and jury member Sergey Dvortsevoy, who directed 2008 best film winner Tulpan.

Lebanon was also notable for its success at what is the fourth APSA Awards: writer/director Samuel Maoz won the screenplay category and also shared the jury grand prize with actress Shinobu Terajima for her role in the Japanese film Caterpillar. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.