Magazine article IAJRC Journal

Future Day

Magazine article IAJRC Journal

Future Day

Article excerpt

David Fink Quartet - Future Day

Soundbrush Recordings SR 1012

Joe Locke (vib), Tom Ranier (p), David Fink (sb), Jo La Barbera (d) - Jeremy Pelt (tpt), Bob Sheppard (ss/ts) on two tunes

I Know / New Valley / Nature Boy / Four Flags / Ballad For A Future Day / Black Eyes / Look At You / For All We Know / If Not For You / Appointment In Ovieto / Transparency / Firm Roots TT: 56:31

This 2007 release features a mix of East and West Coast musicians combining to create a new take on Jazz from the late 1960s Miles Davis Quintet. Vibraphonist Joe Locke is the centerpiece of the group, being responsible for most of the melodic exposition and the lion's share of solo work, but each of the other three (and the two guests) has their moments as well.

While the repertoire is driven by originals by members of the group, it is also leavened by a few standards, with the standout composition being Roger Davidson's Ballad For a Future Day. This well-constructed tune is beautifully played, with the leader's bowed bass and Ranier's piano both featured in concise statements contrasting with Locke's longer exploration. In general, none of the tunes here are dragged out in standard fashion with eternal solos - a strong editorial hand is evident and the resulting focus seems to inspire rather than restrict the soloists. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.