Magazine article Screen International

Shell Wins Top Turin Prize

Magazine article Screen International

Shell Wins Top Turin Prize

Article excerpt

Scott Graham's directorial debut has been named Best Film at the 30th Turin Film Festival.

See below for full list winners

Shell, the story of a father-daughter relationship set in a remote Scottish petrol station, won the top award and a $26,000 ([euro]20,000) prize.

In TFF's Sidebar Awards, Shell also won the International Film Critics' FIPRESCI prize and the Holden School Award, voted for by students.

Graham, named one of Screen's Stars of Tomorrow in 2011, made the film through Glasgow-based production company Brocken Spectre. Starring Chloe Pirrie and Joseph Mawle, Shell is sold by Bac Films International.

Other prizes included the Special Jury Award of $10,000 ([euro]8,000), which went to Italian doc Noi Non Siamo Come James Bond, directed by Mario Balsamo, and US teen drama Pavilion, directed by Tim Sutton.

In addition, Aylin Tezel was named Best Actress for Germany's Am Himmel der Tag (Breaking Horizons) and Huntun Batu was declared Best Actor for Mongolia's Tabun Mahabuda (The First Aggregate).

The festival was overshadowed by the absence of director Ken Loach, who declined a lifetime achievement award and cancelled plans to attend in protest of an alleged labour dispute at the National Film Museum.

The museum claimed that the UK director of The Angels' Share had been "badly informed".

Italian director Ettore Scola, who picked up the Gran Premio Torino lifetime achievement award on Thursday (Nov 29) said he "understood" the struggle of the workers but declared Loach's decision as "inappropriate" and "not useful" to their cause.

Despite the controversy, the festival, which began on Nov 23, reported an uplift in ticket sales of more than 12%, bucking the national trend.

The event ended on Saturday (Dec 1) with closing film Ginger and Rosa, from UK director Sally Potter.Full list of winnersTORINO 30

Best Film (20.000 [euro])Shell by Scott Graham (UK, 2012, 87')

Special Jury Award ex-aequo (8.000 [euro])Noi Non Siamo Come James Bond di Mario Balsamo (Italy, 2012, 73')&Pavilion di Tim Sutton (USA, 2012, 72')

Best Actress AwardAylin Tezel for Am Himmel der Tag (Breaking Horizons)by Pola Beck (Germany, 2012, 86')

Best Actor AwardHuntun Batu for Tabun Mahabuda (The First Aggregate)by Emyr ap Richard, Darhad Erdenibulag (Mongolia, 2012, 90')TFFDOC - INTERNAZIONALE. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.