Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Article excerpt

people * libraries * awards * promotions

'Learning new things is hard, and a single study is not enough to establish new knowledge,' [Brian] Nosek said. ... Nosek founded the center with Jeffrey Spies .... who said, The Center for Open Science will encourage openness, accessibility and reproducibility across all phases of the research work flow.'

- Fariss Samarrai, "New Center for Open Science Designed to Increase Research Transparency, Provide Free Technologies for Scientists," UVA Today, March 4, 2013


The Public Library Association (PLA) announced that Teresa Kiser is the recipient of the Polaris Innovation in Technology John Diff Award. Currently, Kiser is the director of the Public Library of Anniston-Calhoun County in Alabama. The John Diff award, sponsored by Polaris, consists of $1,000 and a plaque.

According to the announcement, this award honors Iliff 's accomplishments as an early adopter of technology in public libraries and is given to a library worker, librarian, or library that has used technology and innovative thinking to improve services.

In a separate announcement, PLA announced that Cross Plains Public Library in Texas is the recipient of EBSCO's Excellence in Small and/or Rural Public Library Service Award. The annual award, sponsored by EBSCO Information Services, consists of $1,000 and a plaque. The award is given to a library serving a population of 10,000 or less.

The Canadian Library Association (CLA) announced that the Citizens Lab at the Munk School of Global Affairs won the CLA 2013 Advancement of Intellectual Freedom in Canada Award. According to the announcement, the Citizens Lab won for its commitment to research, advocacy, and activism. The lab is an interdisciplinary center. The award was presented in Toronto as part of the Freedom to Read Week. According to the release, the award recognizes contributions to intellectual freedom in Canada by individuals or groups.

The Association of Independent Information Professionals (AILP) announced that Aaron Templer is the recipient of the 2013 Roger Summit Award. According to the announcement, the award is presented to "an individual who will inspire and challenge AILP members, thus contributing to our continuing education and development." The award is given by the past presidents of AIIP and is named for Roger Summit, the founder of Dialog. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.