Magazine article American Scientist

National Academy of Engineering Elects 22 Sigma XI Members

Magazine article American Scientist

National Academy of Engineering Elects 22 Sigma XI Members

Article excerpt

Twenty-two Sigma Xi members were among the 69 new members and 1 1 foreign associates elected in February to the National Academy of Engineering.

Arrant Agarwal (SX 1993), president, edX (online learning initiative of MIT and Harvard University), and professor, electrical engineering and computer science department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge. For contributions to shared-memory and multicore computer architectures.

James M. Anderson (SX 1959), Distinguished University Professor, and professor of pathology, macromolecular science, and biomedical engineering, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland. For contributions to understanding tissue/ biomaterials interactions for designing and testing medical devices.

Joseph J. Beaman Jr. (SX 1986), Earnest F. Gloyna Regents Chair in Engineering, mechanical engineering department, University of Texas, Austin. For innovation, development, and commercialization of solid freeform fabrication and selective laser sintering.

Lorenz T. Biegler (SX 1981), Bayer Professor of Chemical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh. For contributions in large-scale nonlinear optimization theory and algorithms for application to process optimization, design, and control.

Donna G. Blackmond (SX 1986), professor of chemistry, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Calif. For kinetic and mechanistic studies of catalytic organic reactions for pharmaceuticals, and for studies of chiral amplification.

Craig T. Bowman (SX 1975), professor of mechanical engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, Calif. For contributions to understanding pollutant formation processes in combustion systems to reduce harmful emissions.

Weng Cho Chew (SX 1981), professor, department of electrical and computer engineering, University of Illinois, Urbana. For contributions to largescale computational electromagnetics of complex structures.

Charles f. Gay (SX 1986), president, applied solar division, Applied Materials Inc., Santa Clara, Calif. For leadership in the development of the global photovoltaic industry.

Joseph P. Heremans (SX 1989), Ohio Eminent Scholar, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering, and professor of physics, Ohio State University, Columbus. For discoveries in thermal energy transfer and conversion to electricity, and for commercial devices employed in automobiles.

Maurice Herlihy (SX 1980), professor of computer science, Brown University, Providence, R.I. For concurrent computing techniques for linearizability, non-blocking data structures, and transactional memory.

Cart C. Koch (SX 1959), Kobe Steel Distinguished Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, North Carolina State University, Raleigh. For synthesis of amorphous and nanocrystalline alloys by mechanical attrition. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.