Magazine article American Scientist

NAS Elects 24 Sigma XI Members

Magazine article American Scientist

NAS Elects 24 Sigma XI Members

Article excerpt

This April, Sigma Xi members were among the 84 new members and 2 1 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished achievements in original research. This class was identical in size to .the class of 2012 and continued the trend of increased female recognition.

The NAS is a non-profit society of scientists and engineers committed to the furtherance of science and technology and its use for the general welfare. NAS was established in 1863 by a congressional act of incorporation signed by President Lincoln that calls on the Academy to act as official liaison to the federal government, upon request, in any matter of science and technology.

Newly elected Sigma Xi members and their affiliations at the time of election are:

Ian T. Baldwin (SX 1985); director, department of molecular ecology, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany

James A. Brown (SX 1967); professor, department of anthropology, Northwestern University, Evanston, 111.

Michael E. Brown (SX 1987); Richard and Barbara Rosenberg Professor, division of geological and planetary sciences, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena

Mark A. Cane (SX 1 975); G. Unger Verlesen Professor of Earth and Climate Sciences, department of earth and environmental sciences, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University, Palisades, N.Y.

Xuemei Chen (SX 2003); investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute and die Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, and professor, department of botany and plant sciences, University of California, Riverside

Robert W. Field (SX 1972); Haslam and Dewey Professor of Chemistry, department of chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge

Susan T. Fiske (SX 1 979); Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology, department of psychology, Princeton University, Princeton, N.J.

Joseph S. Francisco (SX 1990); associate dean of research and graduate education, College of Science, and William E. Moore Distinguished Professor, departments of chemistry and of earth and atmospheric sciences, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Katherine H. Freeman (SX 1984); professor, department of geosciences, Pennsylvania State University, University Park

Martin Gruebele (SX 1989); James R. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.