Magazine article Screen International

Camerimage Unveils Competition Juries

Magazine article Screen International

Camerimage Unveils Competition Juries

Article excerpt

Hunger Games DoP Tom Stern and 12 Years a Slave cinematographer Sean Bobbitt among those chosen for jury duty.

The 21st Camerimage, the International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography (Nov 16-23), has revealed the competition jurors who will judge entries at this year's event in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

Jury members of the main competition jury are:

Tom Stern, cinematographer (Million Dollar Baby, Gran Torino, The Hunger Games);

Ed Lachman, cinematographer (Erin Brockovich, The Virgin Suicides, I'm Not There);

Todd McCarthy, journalist and film critic;

Denis Lenoir, cinematographer (Paris, je t'aime, Righteous Kill, 88 Minutes);

Adam Holender, cinematographer (Midnight Cowboy, Smoke, Fresh);

Timo Salminen, cinematographer (The Man Without a Past, La Havre, The Match Factory Girl);

Franz Lustig, cinematographer (Don't Come Knocking, Land of Plenty, Palermo Shooting);

Jeffrey Kimball, cinematographer (Top Gun, Mission: Impossible II, The Expendables).Polish Films Competition

Jost Vacano, the cinematographer behind several Paul Verhoeven films including Total Recall, RoboCop and Starship Troopers, is jury president of the Polish Films Competition.

The other jury members are:

Stuart Dryburgh, cinematographer (The Piano, Bridget Jones's Diary, The Recruit);

Dennis Dembia, vp entertainment PR agency Rogers & Cowan;

Michael Seresin, cinematographer (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Midnight Express, The Life of David Gale);

Sean Bobbitt, cinematographer (Shame, 12 Years a Slave, The Place Beyond the Pines).Cinematographers Debuts' Competition

Director Jos Stelling (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, De illusionist) has been named the jury president of the Cinematographers Debuts' Competition.

Joining him on the jury are:

Goert Giltay, cinematographer (The Girl and Death, De wisselwachter, The Stone Raft);

Reed Morano, cinematographer (Frozen River, Kill Your Darlings, The Magic of Belle Isle);

Daniele Nannuzzi, cinematographer (Santa Sangre, Empire, Due partite);

Piotr Kukla, cinematographer (Twin Sisters, The Zookeeper, Bride Flight).Directors Debuts' Competition

Albert Hughes is the jury president for the Directors Debuts' Competition. Hughes was the co-director of Menace II Society, From Hell and The Book of Eli.

The rest of the jury is comprised of:

Witold Stok, cinematographer (Close My Eyes, Murphy's Law, Best);

Steven Fierberg, cinematographer (Love & Other Drugs, Secretary, A Nightmare on Elm Street 4);

Peter Menzies Jr., cinematographer (Die Hard: With a Vengeance, The Incredible Hulk, Shooter);

Jaroslav Kucera, producer (Dark Blue World, Zelary, Up and Down).3D Competition

Barry B. Sandrew, stereographer for films such as Shrek 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides and Transformers: Dark of the Moon, is jury president for the 3D Competition - the newest addition to the Festival.

The other jury members include:

Markus Lanxinger, stereographer (The Amazing Spider-Man, Texas Chainsaw 3D, The Green Hornet);

Matthew R. Blute, editor (Storm Surfers 3D, Stalingrad, Katy Perry: Part of Me);

Glen MacPherson, cinematographer (Rambo, Resident Evil: Afterlife, The Three Musketeers).Students Etudes Competition

Overseeing the Students Etudes Competition is jury president Caleb Deschanel, cinematographer for films such as The Patriot, The Passion of the Christ and National Treasure. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.