Magazine article Screen International

Slave Leads Awards from Women Film Journalists

Magazine article Screen International

Slave Leads Awards from Women Film Journalists

Article excerpt

Steve McQueen's 12 Years A Slave leads the winners for this year's award from the The Alliance of Women Film Journalists (AWFJ), winning six trophies including best film.

Cate Blanchett won best actress for Blue Jasmine, Matthew McConaughey won best actor for Dallas Buyers Club, while the supporting awards went to Lupita Nyong'o for 12 Years a Slave (she also won best breakthrough performance) and Jared Leto for Dallas Buyers Club.

Sarah Polley's Stories We Tell won best documentary and Thomas Vinterberg's The Hunt won best non-English-language film.

Nicole Holofcener won best female director and best woman screenwriter for Enough Said.

This Year's Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film Industry recognition went to Wadjda director Haifaa Al-Mansour from Saudi Arabia.

The AWFJ includes female critics, writers and editors in the US, Canada and the UK.

Full list of winners below.


Best Film 12 Years a Slave

Best Director 12 Years a Slave - Steve McQueen

Best Screenplay, Original Her - Spike Jonze

Best Screenplay, Adapted 12 Years a Slave - John Ridley

Best Documentary Stories We Tell - Sarah Polley

Best Animated Film The Wind Rises - Hayao Miyazaki

Best Actress Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine

Best Actress in a Supporting Role Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor Matthew McConaughey - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actor in a Supporting Role Jared Leto - Dallas Buyers Club

Best Ensemble Cast American Hustle

Best Editing Gravity - Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger

Best Cinematography Gravity - Emmanuel Lubezki

Best Film Music Or Score Inside Llewyn Davis - T-Bone Burnett

Best Non-English-Language Film The Hunt - Thomas Vinterberg (Denmark)


Best Woman Director Nicole Holofcener - Enough Said

Best Woman Screenwriter Nicole Holofcener - Enough Said

Kick Ass Award For Best Female Action Star Sandra Bullock - Gravity

Best Animated Female Anna (Kristen Bell) - Frozen

Best Breakthrough Performance Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years A Slave

Actress Defying Age and Ageism Sandra Bullock - GravityAWFJ Award Female Icon AwardAngelina Jolie - for continued commitments to humanitarian causes, and for promoting awareness about breast cancerThis Year's Outstanding Achievement By A Woman In The Film IndustryHaifaa Al-Mansour - for challenging the limitations placed on women within her culture by making the film Wadjda


AWFJ Hall Of Shame Award The Counselor - Ridley Scott

Actress Most in Need Of A New Agent Cameron Diaz, The CounselorMovie You Wanted To Love But Just Couldn't Award The CounselorUnforgettable Moment Award 12 Years a Slave - Solomon hangingBest Depiction Of Nudity, Sexuality, or Seduction Award Her - Scarlett Johansson and Joaquin PhoenixSequel or Remake That Shouldn't Have Been Made Award (Tie) Carrie and Oz, Great and PowerfulMost Egregious Age Difference Between The Leading Man and The Love Interest Award Last Vegas - Michael Douglas and Bre Blair (36 years)

Credit: wendy. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.