Magazine article IAJRC Journal

Afro Straight

Magazine article IAJRC Journal

Afro Straight

Article excerpt

Ernest Dawkins

Afro Straight

Delmark

Corey Wilkes (tp) Ernest Dawkins (as, ts, vcl, perc) Willerm Delisfort (p) Ben Patterson (org) Junius Paul (b) Isaiah Spencer (d) Reuben Alvarez, Greg Carmouche, Greg Penn (perc). October, 2010 and April, 2012 in Chicago

Mr. P.C./United/Afro Straight/Central Park West/Woody 'n' You/Softly As In A Morning Sunrise/God Bless The Child/Footprints/Old Man Blues/ Juju. TT 67:44

Ernest Dawkins is generally associated with the free Jazz and experimental improvisation of the AACM. Here, however, he presents a program of standards (sort of standard, anyway) played with an occasional nod to his regular style.

Surrounding himself with a group of younger musicians who are obviously conversant with the 1960's hard bop style that informs most of these recordings, Dawkins plays in a manner much more straight ahead than usual for him. He points out in the liner notes that his main objective as a jazz musician is to play as well "inside" as he does "outside" and the evidence here suggests success on that front. His ballad feature "God Bless The Child" (on tenor) is in the tradition of Coltrane and Sonny Rollins while his alto playing on "Softly As In A Morning Sunrise" and "Old Man Blues" reaches further back to the classic Bebop era. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed

Oops!

An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.