Magazine article Screen International

Jeremy Thomas to Head London Film Festival Jury

Magazine article Screen International

Jeremy Thomas to Head London Film Festival Jury

Article excerpt

Other jurors across London's competitions include Sally Hawkins, James McAvoy, James Corden and Dexter Fletcher.

British producer Jeremy Thomas to to head the Official Competition jury at the 58th BFI London Film Festival (Oct 8-19).

Thomas's career as producer and executive producer spans Nicolas Roeg's Bad Timing (1978), Bernardo Bertolucci's Oscar-winner The Last Emperor (1987), David Cronenberg's Crash (1996), Wim Wender's Pina (2011) and Jim Jarmusch's Only Lovers Left Alive (2013).

He will preside over a jury that comprises last year's Best Film Award nominee Ahmad Abdalla (Rags & Tatters), actress Sally Hawkins (Blue Jasmine), film producer and programme advisor Lorna Tee (Postcards from the Zoo), actor James McAvoy (X-Men: Days of Future Past) and film critic Scott Foundas.

Jury members who will present work at the festival include Abdalla, whose film Decor receives its world premiere; Hawkins, who features in Morgan Matthews' debut feature X + Y; and James McAvoy who stars in The Disappearance Of Eleanor Rigby, newly added to the Love section, where the actor will be joined by writer/director Ned Benson.

The titles in competition are

Dearest (Chi) dir. Peter Ho-Sun Chan

The Duke Of Burgundy (UK) dir. Peter Strickland

The Falling (UK) dir. Carol Morley

A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night (US) dir. Ana Lily Amirpour

Girlhood (Fra) dir. Céline Sciamma

The Keeping Room (US) dir. Daniel Barber

Leviathan (Rus) dir. Andrey Zvyagintsev

The New Girlfriend (Fra) dir. François Ozon

Phoenix (Ger) dir. Christian Petzold

The President (Geo) dir. Mohsen Makhmalbaf

Son Of A Gun (Aus) dir. Julius Avery

Timbuktu (Fra) dir. Abderrahmane Sissako

The awards ceremony will take place on Oct 18.First Feature Competition

The Sutherland Award in the First Feature Competition will be presided over by producer Luc Roeg, whose own film We Need To Talk About Kevin won the Best Film Award at the festival in 2011.

His fellow jurors are the actors Ian Hart (The Bridge) and Hermione Norris (Spooks), producer and president of production at eOne Xavier Marchand, and director-cinematographer-writer, Ben Rivers (Two Years at Sea).

'71 (UK) dir. Yann Demange

Butter On The Latch (US) dir. Josephine Decker

Catch Me Daddy (UK) dir. Daniel Wolfe

Difret (Eth) dir. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.