Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Magazine article Computers in Libraries

Noted & Quoted

Article excerpt

'Before Google there was-that paragon of accuracy and calm - the librarian. ... Librarians are 'information specialists,' ... and can help point patrons to resources that aren't available online. Also, sometimes there's just something about speaking to a human being.'

-'Before the Internet, Librarians Would 'Answer Everything'-And Still Do,' NPR staff,, Dec. 28, 2014

The American Library Association (ALA) announced that Keri Cascio is the new executive director of the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS). Previously, Cascio was the director of innovative technologies and library resource management at the Linda Hall Library of Science, Engineering, and Technology in Kansas City (Mo.). Prior to that, she was a branch manager at the St. Charles City-County Library District in St. Peters (Mo.) and a librarian/trainer at the Missouri Library Network Corp. Cascio was a 2007 ALA Emerging Leader and has served on many committees. She has also presented on topics such as the preservation of digital images.

The Special Libraries Association (SLA) names SLAfellows each year. The winners are chosen from active, midcareer members, recognizing past, present, and future service to the association and the profession. They may use the title Fellow of the Special Libraries Association. See awards/award-recipients to learn about the recipients.


The 10 winners of the 2014 Carnegie Corporation of NewYork/New York Times I Love My Librarian Award have been announced. The award consists of a $5,000 prize and a ceremony and reception held in New York. The winners are as follows: Michael Beller of F.W. Olin Library at Mills College in Oakland, Calif. ; Cherry Hamrick of Delta Township District Library in Lansing, Mich.; Jessica Elaine Holmes of Westridge Elementary School Library Media Center in Frankfort, Ky.; Lynn Hancock of Brown Library at Virginia Western Community College in Roanoke, Va.; David Lopez of Santa Ana Public Library in Calif.; Christine Payne of Appoquinimink High School in Middletown, Del.; Kevin M. Ray of the Cleveland Public Library; Ciro Scardina of P.S. 18 Library Media Center in Staten Island, N.Y.; Sarah A. Sugden of Waterville Public Library in Waterville, Maine; and Frances Yates of Indiana University in Richmond, Ind. For more information about the 20141 Love My Librarian Award recipients, see ilovelibraries .org/ilovemylibrarian.

The U.S. Government Publishing Office announced that Chuck Riddle received FedScoop's Federal Leadership award for introducing technology initiatives at the agency. He received this award for moving its email to the cloud.

SLA also announced that Cynthia L. Shamel is its interim director, and Ulla de Strickeris its interim strategic director. Shamel is head of Shamel Information Services in Poway, Calif., and de Strieker is president of de Strieker Associates in Toronto. They attended the SLA Leadership Summit in Baltimore. They report to the SLA board and the executive committee, serving for 1 year-although, their contracts can be extended.

The Public Library Association (PLA) is sponsoring Anna Coats and Carmen Sanchez as 2015 ALA Emerging Leaders. The program is a leadership development initiative that enables newer library workers to participate in work groups, network with peers, and learn the American Library Association (ALA) structure. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.