Magazine article Academe

AAUP Officers and Council, 2016-17

Magazine article Academe

AAUP Officers and Council, 2016-17

Article excerpt

AAUP officers are ex officio members of the Council, as are the chair and past chair of the Assembly of State Conferences and the chair and past chair of the AAUP-CBC.

A list of Association officers, general counsel, and Council members follows, with dates of term expiration noted at the end of each entry. An asterisk denotes a Council member serving in his or her second term or an officer serving in his or her fourth term. The distribution of states in each district is based on the redistricting plan approved by the Council on June 9, 2006.



Rudy H. Fichtenbaum (Economics), Wright State University, 2018

First Vice President

Henry Reichman (History), California State University, East Bay, 2018

Second Vice President

Caprice Lawless (English), Front Range Community College, 2018


Michele Ganon (Accounting), Western Connecticut State University, 2018

General Counsel

Risa L. Lieberwitz (Law), Cornell University, 2018

Council Members

District I (Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

Jonathan Rees (History), Colorado State University- Pueblo, 2018

*Chris Nagel (Philosophy), California State University, Stanislaus, 2020

District II (Alaska, Idaho, Kansas, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming)

*Philip Cole (Physics), Idaho State University, 2018

Friedrich Schuler (History), Portland State University, 2020

District III (Michigan)

Mehmet Yaya (Economics), Eastern Michigan University, 2018

*Lisa Minnick (English), Western Michigan University, 2020

District IV (Arkansas, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, Virginia)

*Nancy McKenney (Library), Eastern Kentucky University, 2018

Kathryn Kuhn (Sociology), Saint Louis University, 2020

District V (Alabama, Canada, Florida, Foreign, Georgia, Guam, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, West Virginia)

Kevin Cope (English and Comparative Literature), Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, 2018

Leslie Bary (Spanish and Latin American Studies), University of Louisiana, Lafayette, 2020

District VI (Ohio)

*Linda Rouillard (French), University of Toledo, 2018

*Ashlee Brand (English), Cuyahoga Community College, 2020

District VII (New Jersey)

Zoran Gajic (Electrical and Computer Engineering), Rutgers University, 2018

David Hughes (Anthropology), Rutgers University, 2020

District VIII (New York)

*Anne Friedman (Linguistics and Academic Literacy), Manhattan Community College, City University of New York, 2018

*Sally Dear-Healey (Sociology and Anthropology), State University of New York College at Cortland, 2020

District IX (Connecticut, New Hampshire, Vermont)

Irene Mulvey (Mathematics), Fairfield University, 2018

*Julian Madison (History), Southern Connecticut University, 2020

District X (Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island)

*Maria T. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.