Magazine article Phi Kappa Phi Forum

Member News

Magazine article Phi Kappa Phi Forum

Member News

Article excerpt

SHARON HAHS (Southern Illinois University) will retire Sept. 30 as president of Northeastern Illinois University. A graduate of the University of New Mexico and Illinois Wesleyan University, she previous served at Southern Illinois and the University of South Carolina Upstate.

WILLIAM I. BRUSTEIN (University of Connecticut) recently joined West Virginia University as vice president for global strategies and international affairs. He was previously vice provost for global strategies and international affairs at The Ohio State University and president of The Ohio State University Global Gateways. A professor of sociology, he also served at the University of Illinois, UrbanaChampaign, and at the University of Pittsburgh, among others.

MICHAEL C. MEYERS (Oklahoma State University) received the 2016 Sports Trauma and Overuse Prevention Injuries Award at the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine's Annual Meeting. He is the first recipient of the award, established in 2015 to recognize research leading to awareness and change in the prevention of such injuries in youth sports. His research focused on high school football injuries on artificial turf systems.

JOHN M. DUNN (Western Michigan University) will retire as the eighth president of Western Michigan on June 30. He previously served at Southern Illinois University, the University of Utah, and Oregon State University. Dunn was also past president of the Research Consortium of the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance; and president of the American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education. He is a graduate of Northern Illinois University and Brigham Young University.

HOWARD BURTNETT (East Carolina University) was named the 2016 Clinical Instructor of the Year by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. He is faculty and clinical coordinator for the York College of Pennsylvania/WellSpan Health Nurse Anesthesia Program in York, Pennsylvania.

RICARDO R0M0 (University of Texas, San Antonio) will retire as president of that university next year. The first Texan to run the mile in less than four minutes, Romo is a graduate of the University of Texas, Austin; Loyola Marymount University; and the University of California, Los Angeles. He was appointed to the White House Advisory Commission on Educational Excellence for Hispanics; was a vice chairman for the Federal Reserve Bank; and was a representative to the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization.

SCOTT ROBERTS (University of Nevada, Las Vegas) was recently named vice president for philanthropy and alumni engagement at Nevada, Las Vegas. He was previously director of university development at Pittsburg State University and a district executive for the Boy Scouts of America. Roberts is a graduate of Missouri State University at West Plains, College of the Ozarks, and Nevada, Las Vegas.

R0DNER WRIGHT (Mississippi State University) was recently appointed provost of Florida A&M University. Previously dean of the School of Architecture and Engineering Technology, he was educated at the University of Cincinnati and the Harvard University Graduate School of Design.

STEVEN C. TRACY (University of Massachusetts) was named Distinguished University Professor at Massachusetts. He is an authority on the intersection of African-American literature and blues music, author of several books, and a blues performer.

ANDREA C0DDETT (Fordham University) was recently appointed deputy superintendent of the Yonkers, New York, public school system. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.