Magazine article Black Issues in Higher Education

Black Colleges Explained

Magazine article Black Issues in Higher Education

Black Colleges Explained

Article excerpt

Most people who are familiar with the nation's historically Black institutions understand that public and private institutions are included in this mix. What is less widely understood, however, is that there are additional characteristics that distinguish the public HBCUs from one another.

Following the end of the Civil War, the southern states were required by federal law to provide public education for all of their citizens. Southern legislators complied with law, but in order to maintain their entrenched legacy of segregation between Blacks and Whites, they also engineered a "separate but equal" system of public universities.

Thus ensued the creation of the nation's 17 historically Black, land grant institutions, which were founded in 1890. Those schools are:

Alabama A&M University

The University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Delaware State College

Florida A&M University

Fort Valley State College

Kentucky State University

Southern University-Baton Rouge

University of Maryland-Eastern Shore

Alcorn State University

Lincoln University (Mo)

North Carolina A&T State University

Langston University

South Carolina State University

Tennessee State University

Prairie View A&M University

Virginia State University

West Virginia State College

Besides sharing a common history, these land-grant schools are all four-year institutions. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.