William C. Powers Jr. Named President of University of Texas at Austin

Article excerpt


William C. Powers Jr., dean of the University of Texas at Austin's law school, was officially named president of the university on Dec. 5 by the UT system board of regents.

Powers, who will succeed President Larry R. Faulkner on Feb. 1, was named the sole finalist for the position by the board in November.

"The board of regents is delighted that Bill Powers has agreed to serve as president of this great institution," says board chairman James R. Huffines. "Bill Powers has an outstanding record and broad national stature in law, teaching, administration and public service. We believe he is the right person for the job and will continue to lead the university into even greater excellence and prominence in the state and nation."

Powers, who has served as dean of the law school since 2000, is also a university distinguished teaching professor, and holds the Hines H. Baker and Thelma Kelley Baker Chair in Law and the John Jeffers Research Chair in Law. He joined the law school faculty in 1977 and has held several faculty chairs and other administrative appointments. He served as associate dean for academic affairs from 1984 to 1987 and 1994 to 1995. Powers received his law degree from Harvard University and his bachelor's degree in chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley.

"The board has chosen an excellent leader in Bill Powers and 1 feel very good about his selection," says Chancellor Mark G. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.