Magazine article Screen International

'The Lobster' Leads 2015 BIFA Nominations

Magazine article Screen International

'The Lobster' Leads 2015 BIFA Nominations

Article excerpt

Yorgos Lanthimos's The Lobster topped this year's Moet British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) nominations, which were presented in London this morning (Nov 3) by Gemma Chan and Thomas Brodie-Sangster.

The film garnered seven nods including Best British Independent Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay and Producer of the Year.

Andrew Haigh's 45 Years and Justin Kurzel's Macbeth both received six nominations each, receiving acting nods for stars Charlotte Rampling and Tom Courtenay for the former, and Marion Cotillard and Michael Fassbender for the latter.

Asif Kapadi's documentary Amy, which told the story of the late singer Amy Winehouse, received five nominations, as did John Crowley's period drama Brooklyn.

Ben Wheatley's High-Rise and Sarah Gavron's Suffragette each received four nominations.

Alongside The Lobster, the titles also nominated for Best British Indepedent Film were: 45 Years, Amy, Ex Machina and Macbeth.

As previously announced, Kate Winslet will be presented with the Variety Award for bringing global interest to the UK film industry.

The rest of the winners will be revealed at the The Moët British Independent Film Awards on December 6.

At last year's BIFA ceremony, Matthew Warchus' Pride took home multiple awards including Best British Independent Film.


Best British Independent Film sponsored by Moët & Chandon

45 Years, Tristan Goligher, Andrew Haigh

Amy, James Gay-Rees, Asif Kapadia

Ex Machina, Andrew Macdonald, Allon Reich, Alex Garland

The Lobster, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Efthymis Filippou, Yorgos Lanthimos

Macbeth, Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Laura Hastings-Smith, Todd Louiso, Jacob Koskoff, Michael Lesslie, Justin Kurzel

Best Director

45 Years, Andrew Haigh

Amy, Asif Kapadia

Ex Machina, Alex Garland

The Lobster, Yorgos Lanthimos

Macbeth, Justin Kurzel

Best Actress sponsored by MAC

Marion Cotillard, Macbeth

Carey Mulligan, Suffragette

Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years

Saorise Ronan, Brooklyn

Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl

Best Supporting Actress

Helen Bonham Carter, Suffragette

Olivia Colman, The Lobster

Anne-Marie Duff, Suffragette

Sienna Miller, High-Rise

Julie Walters, Brooklyn

Most Promising Newcomer sponsored by The London Edition

Agyness Deyn, Sunset Song

Mia Goth, The Survivalist

Abigail Hardingham, Nina Forever

Milo Parker, Mr Holmes

Bel Powley, A Royal Night Out

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director) sponsored by 3 Mills Studios

The Hallow, Corin Hardy

Kajaki: The True Story, Paul Katis

Nina Forever, Chris & Ben Blaine

Slow West, John Maclean

The Survivalist, Stephen Fingleton

The Discovery Award sponsored by Raindance


Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.