Magazine article American Scientist

New Leadership Elected

Magazine article American Scientist

New Leadership Elected

Article excerpt

Congratulations to the following Sigma Xi members who were elected to leadership positions on December 14, 2016, by their fellow members. They are listed below with their Sigma Xi chapter affiliation. Thank you to all of the candidates who volunteered to be in the election.


Joel R. Primack, University of CalifomiaSanta Cruz, will serve a three-year term. He will be Sigma Xi's president-elect from ļuly 1, 2017, to June 30, 2018, and president from July 1, 2018, to June 30, 2019. Then, he will serve as past president from July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020.


David W. Baker, Colorado School of Mines, has served as treasurer since December 14, 2016. His term runs through June 30, 2018.


These directors will serve three years, beginning July 1, 2017.

Membership-at-Large Constituency

Vijay Kowtha, Membership-at-Large

Research and Doctoral Universities Constituency

Tammy Maldonado, University of Colorado

Mid-Atlantic Region

Frank Dane, Hollins University

Northeast Region

Eugene Santos, Dartmouth College

Southeast Region

Richard Watkins, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Term: December 14, 2016, through June 30, 2018

Associate Directors

These associate directors will serve threeyear terms, beginning July 1, 2017. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.