Magazine article Screen International

MGM TV's 'The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair' Starts Production

Magazine article Screen International

MGM TV's 'The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair' Starts Production

Article excerpt

Patrick Dempsey, Ben Schnetzer, Damon Wayans Jr, and Virginia Madsen star in 10-part series based on Joël Dicker’s novel.

MGM Television, Eagle Pictures and Barbary Films have begun production in Montreal, Quebec, Canada on a 10-part TV series event for EPIX network based on the bestselling European novel by Joël Dicker, The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair.

The series is produced by MGM Television and Eagle Pictures with MGM serving as the lead studio.

The Truth About The Harry Quebert Affair takes place in coastal Maine and centres on Marcus Goldman, who is visiting Harry Quebert’s home to find a cure for his writer’s block as his publisher’s deadline looms. Marcus’ plans are suddenly upended when Harry is implicated in the cold-case murder of Nola Kellergan, a 15-year-old girl who has been missing for many years.

Jean-Jacques Annaud, director of Black And White In Color, will make his TV directorial debut, helming every episode of the series.

Lyn Greene and Richard Levine wrote the pilot script and several episodes based on an adaptation by Annaud.

The Truth About The Harry QuebertAffair will be the second scripted series for EPIX produced by MGM Television and the first project since MGM completed the transaction to acquire EPIX in May.

Dempsey stars in the title role as Harry Quebert, a literary icon who suddenly finds himself indicted for murder after the body of a young girl is found buried on his property.

Schnetzer stars as Marcus Goldman, a successful young novellist who has been mentored by Quebert, while Wayans Jr will play Sgt. Perry Gahalowood, a Maine State Police investigator investigating the death of the young girl.

Madsen plays Tamara Quinn, Jenny Quinn’s mother and the owner of a local diner who learns of a secret about Quebert.

Rounding out the cast are Kristine Froseth, Colm Feore, Josh Close, Matt Frewer, Connor Price, Tessa Mossey, Victoria Clark, Craig Eldridge, Kurt Fuller, Don Harvey, Felicia Shulman, and Wayne Knight.

Annaud, Tarak Ben Ammar, Fabio Conversi, Greene, and Levine serve as executive producers on the drama series. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.