Magazine article Screen International

'Mudbound', 'Darkest Hour' among Cinematography Award Nominees

Magazine article Screen International

'Mudbound', 'Darkest Hour' among Cinematography Award Nominees

Article excerpt

The 2018 ASC Awards will be held on February 17.


The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has unveiled nominations for its 32nd annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography.

Nominations were announced in five categories, and include familiar names like Roger Deakins who received his 15th nomination for Blade Runner 2049.

Deakins is joined in the theatrical release category by Mudbound cinematographer Rachel Morrison, Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest Hour, Hoyte Van Hoytema for Dunkirk, and Dan Laustsen for The Shape Of Water.

In the TV categories, Game Of Thrones and 12 Monkeys have multiple nominations. Streamers Amazon and Netflix are represented on the nominations list with Man In The High Castle, and The Crown and Mindhunter, respectively.

Winners will be announced at a ceremony held on February 17 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

The 2018 ASC Award nominees are:

Theatrical Release

Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC

Darkest Hour, Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC

Dunkirk, Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC

The Shape Of Water, Dan Laustsen, DFF

Mudbound, Rachel Morrison, ASC

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

The Man In The High Castle (“Land O’ Smiles), Amazon, Gonzalo Amat

The Crown (“Smoke And Mirrors”), Netflix, Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC

Game Of Thrones (“The Spoils Of War”), HBO, Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC

Game Of Thrones (“Dragonstone”), HBO, Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC

Outlander (“The Battle Joined”), Starz, Alasdair Walker

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Legion (“Chapter 1”), FX, Dana Gonzales, ASC

12 Monkeys (“Mother”), Syfy, David Greene, ASC, CSC

The Originals (“Bag Of Cobras”), The CW, Kurt Jones

12 Monkeys (“Thief”), Syfy, Boris Mojsovski, CSC

Gotham (“The Executioner”), Fox, Crescenzo Notarile, ASC

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

The Deuce pilot, HBO, Pepe Avila del Pino

Sometimes The Good Kill, Lifetime, Serge Desrosiers, CSC

Genius (“Chapter 1”), National Geographic, Mathias Herndl, AAC

Training Day pilot (“Apocalypse Now”), CBS Shelly Johnson, ASC

Mindhunter pilot, Netflix, Christopher Probst, ASC

Spotlight Award

On Body And Soul, Máté Herbai, HSC

Loveless, Mikhail Krichman, RGC

November, Mart Taniel

Credit: Elbert Wyche

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.