Magazine article Screen International

'The Favourite' Leads 2018 BIFA Nominations

Magazine article Screen International

'The Favourite' Leads 2018 BIFA Nominations

Article excerpt

Yorgos Lanthimos comedy to compete against American Animals, Beast, Disobedience and You Were Never Really Here.

‘The Favourite’

The nominations for the 2018 British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) were revealed today (October 31), with Yorgos Lanthimos’s The Favourite leading the field with 13 nominations.

The historical comedy is up for best British independent film, best director and best screenplay. Olivia Colman is nominated for best actress, and her co-stars Emma Stone and Rachel Weisz have both been nominated for best supporting actress.

The Favourite will compete for best film against Bart Layton’s American Animals (11 nominations), Michael Pearce’s Beast (10 nominations), Sebastián Lelio’s Disobedience (5 nominations) and Lynne Ramsay’s You Were Never Really Here (8 nominations).

Further titles with multiple nominations include Stan & Ollie (7), including best actor for Steve Coogan, Apostasy (6), with director Daniel Kokotajlo up for best debut director, and Lean On Pete (4), including a best director nod for Andrew Haigh.


Distributor-wise, Altitude once again leads the way with 17 nominations this year. Curzon Artificial Eye has 16, eOne has 13, Fox Searchlight has 13, STX has 11, Studiocanal has nine and Netflix has five.

There were 58 nominations in total for Film4 productions. Every single nominee for best British film was a Film4 production.

According to BIFA, over 40% of the individual nominations are for women. More than 140 British films were submitted for consideration, with 37 British feature films nominated across the BIFA categories.

As Screen revealed, BIFA voters took part in compulsory unconscious bias training for the first time this year.

The awards ceremony will take place on December 2 at Old Billingsgate in London.

Full list of nominations

Best British Independent Film

* American Animals, Bart Layton, Katherine Butler, Dimitri Doganis, Derrin Schlesinger, Mary Jane Skalski

* Beast, Michael Pearce, Kristian Brodie, Lauren Dark, Ivana Mackinnon

* Disobedience, Sebastián Lelio, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, Ed Guiney, Frida Torresblanco, Rachel Weisz

* The Favourite, Yorgos Lanthimos, Deborah Davis, Tony Mcnamara, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday

* You Were Never Really Here, Lynne Ramsay, Pascal Caucheteux, Rosa Attab, James Wilson, Rebecca O’Brien

Best Director

* Andrew Haigh, Lean On Pete

* Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite

* Bart Layton, American Animals

* Michael Pearce, Beast

* Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Best Screenplay

* Deborah Davis, Tony Mcnamara, The Favourite

* Bart Layton, American Animals

* Sebastián Lelio, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, Disobedience

* Michael Pearce, Beast

* Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Best Actress

* Gemma Arterton, The Escape

* Jessie Buckley, Beast

* Olivia Colman, The Favourite

* Maxine Peake, Funny Cow

* Rachel Weisz, Disobedience

Best Actor

* Joe Cole, A Prayer Before Dawn

* Steve Coogan, Stan & Ollie

* Rupert Everett, The Happy Prince

* Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really Here

* Charlie Plummer, Lean On Pete

Best Supporting Actress

* Nina Arianda, Stan & Ollie

* Rachel McAdams, Disobedience

* Emma Stone, The Favourite

* Rachel Weisz, The Favourite

* Molly Wright, Apostasy

Best Supporting Actor

* Steve Buscemi, Lean On Pete

* Barry Keoghan, American Animals

* Alessandro Nivola, Disobedience

* Evan Peters, American Animals

* Dominic West, Colette

Most Promising Newcomer

* Jessie Buckley, Beast

* Michaela Coel, Been So Long

* Liv Hill, Jellyfish

* Marcus Rutherford, Obey

* Molly Wright, Apostasy

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

* Richard Billingham, Ray & Liz

* Daniel Kokotajlo, Apostasy

* Matt Palmer, Calibre

* Michael Pearce, Beast

* Leanne Welham, Pili

Debut Screenwriter

* Karen Gillan, The Party’s Just Beginning

* Daniel Kokotajlo, Apostasy

* Bart Layton, American Animals

* Matt Palmer, Calibre

* Michael Pearce, Beast

Breakthrough Producer

* Kristian Brodie, Beast

* Jacqui Davies, Ray & Liz

* Anna Griffin, Calibre

* Marcie Maclellan, Apostasy

* Faye Ward, Stan & Ollie

The Discovery Award

* The Dig, Andy Tohill, Ryan Tohill, Stuart Drennan, Brian J. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.