Blind Date; Every Week We Give a Singleton the Chance to Pick a Date and Then Send the Couple out. Then We Invite Them Back to Tell Us How They Got On

Article excerpt

Byline: ALEX MATTIS

Gordon 34, a journalist from Finsbury Park

Star sign: Cancer come out straight away and say that I'm lazy, but in a good way. I can sit on the couch for ages and indulge in my favourite lo-fi TV.

I'm happy to out myself and say I'm one of those people who likes Buffy The Vampire Slayer (along with Spooks, The West Wing, etc). I also watch too many movies, including some really bad ones (Bullet Proof Monk, anyone?) Along with the attachment to the sofa, I'm probably rather too fond of pizza. It's like some weird addiction - rocket and broccoli being my odd favourites. But I try to keep the pizza and TV consumption under control and exercise. I love Chinese kickboxing - but not the bruises. And lately I've got into yoga.

I like the outdoors - not in an anoraky sort of way, just ambling and cycling. I learned to horse-ride a couple of years ago and want to do more.

I'd particularly love to go to Arizona or Texas (too many Westerns as a child).

As well as watching TV, I read a lot and write a bit, so I like creative-ish, smart-ish women who have something to say and wouldn't be offended by light servings of sarcasm. Warning: I've morphed into a warmongering Blairite type so am probably not suitable for all political persuasions.

When it comes to women I've based all previous dating choices on the fact that they were brunette. This hasn't totally worked out, but still... My ideal date would involve any of the following: dawdling along the river followed by lunch, dinner at Andrew Edmunds in Soho or drinking bottles of beer and playing pool. Oh yeah, and staying in.

next week's candidates

Tracy, 31

Star sign: Cancer.

Lives: A shared flat in Notting Hill.

Job: Dental hygienist. I'm also the director of a recruitment agency.

Salary: 60K.

Car: I don't have a car.

Interests: I love water sports and in the winter I like to go skiing. But back here in London I like to spend time hanging out at cool bars around my area.

Favourite film: I'm a big fan of The Shawshank Redemption although I'm not a huge film buff.

Book: My favourite recent read was Atonement by Ian McEwan.

Song: There are far too many to pin it down to just one.

Personal style: Smart-casual when I'm at work, but when I'm out on the town it's more dressy and flirty.

Vices: Nothing worth divulging here, thank you!

Dating history: I'm afraid there hasn't been much on the relationship front lately. My last relationship lasted six months and ended last June.

Ideal partner: I'd like to meet an easygoing, handsome, fun professional. Is that too much to ask?

Lorraine, 25

Star sign: Virgo.

Lives: I own a flat in Hoxton.

Job: Web designer.

Salary: 30K.

Car: I still can't drive! It's definitely on my to-do list though.

Interests: I love travelling and playing the piano.

I'm also into food and like cooking and going for picnics in the park.

Favourite film: Beavis And Butt-Head. I know it's ridiculous but it makes me laugh every time.

Although I suppose I should say something more intellectual here.

Book: Perfume by Patrick Suskind. It's sensual and erotic in a dark and disturbing way.

Song: At the moment, I absolutely love Gary Jules's cover of the Tears For Fears song 'Mad World' (It's the one from the movie Donnie Darko). But I also love anything by New Order.

Personal style: Betty Page-esque sex kitten.

Vices: Not saying.

Dating history: There have been a few longish relationships, but I've been single now for just under a year.

Ideal partner: I'd like to meet someone chilled out, wacky, passionate, likeable and independent.

Clare, 25

Star sign: Taurus.

Lives: I live in a rented flat in Clapham that I share with two other lovely ladies. …