Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Ribault Girls Hoops Team Wins 4 Jaspers

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Ribault Girls Hoops Team Wins 4 Jaspers

Article excerpt

The hardware keeps coming for Ribault High's girls basketball team, which swept four awards yesterday at the Jaspers, which honor amateur and professional athletic achievement on the First Coast.

Dorian Williams, who led the Lady Trojans to four consecutive state titles, was named Female Basketball Player of the Year for 2002 and 2003. Williams joins former Mandarin High softball pitcher Kellie Wilkerson as the only athletes to win a Jasper four times during their high-school career.

The Otis F. Smith Kids Foundation, which puts on the event to benefit its own charity, honored baseball, basketball, softball and soccer athletes for the past two years to bring those awards more up to date at future ceremonies.

The Lady Trojans also were honored as the 2003 Amateur Female Team of the Year and coach Al Austin was the Amateur Coach of the Year in all sports. Ribault girls basketball has won nine Jaspers.

Austin, who will be inducted into the Florida High School Activities Association Hall of Fame this summer, has has hinted at retirement.

In addition to the 22 amateur sports categories, running back Fred Taylor was honored as Jaguars MVP, beating out punter Chris Hanson and receiver Jimmy Smith. The Jaspers' Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Earl Kitchings Sr., a longtime coach at Matthew Gilbert and Raines High School. He was also the first track coach for the late Bob Hayes, a two-time Olympic gold-medal winner and the Times-Union's top athlete of the 20th century.

LeRoy Butler, the former Green Bay Packers' safety and Lee High graduate, was honored as the Otis F. Smith Civic Award winner for his charitable endeavors through his foundation. Kenton Bell, a paraplegic who is the scoreboard operator for the University of North Florida basketball team, won a Jasper for Outstanding Achievement of the Year.


The following is a list of Jaspers winners.

2002 Amateur Baseball Player of the Year: Jeremy Papelbon, Bishop Kenny High. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.