Newspaper article Evening Gazette (Middlesbrough, England)

Harper Beats Team-Mate in Matchplay Final

Newspaper article Evening Gazette (Middlesbrough, England)

Harper Beats Team-Mate in Matchplay Final

Article excerpt

Byline: Golf

James Harper won an all-Seaton Carew final in the Durham County Matchplay Championship at Eaglescliffe when he beat Hugh Hamilton 3 and 1.

There were so many birdies in the morning semi-finals that it would have been understandable if the final in the afternoon had been an anti-climax. It was not the case.

Against Boldon's Gavin Nesbit in the morning, the 25-year-old Harper made his run for the final with a string of birdies that gave him a 3 and 2 win.

There were even more fireworks in the other semi between Hamilton and Barnard Castle's Rob Dinwiddie and when Hamilton holed from 20 feet on 17 for a birdie to go six under par - Dinwiddie was five under at the time.

That putt saw Hamilton go one up and the 18th was halved for Hamilton go through.

But he was soon five down after Harper slotted birdies at the second, third, and fifth.

Hamilton grabbed a lifeline with birdies at 11 and 12 and Harper three-putted on 13 to see his lead cut to two.

Hamilton missed another great chance on 15 before Harper sealed his triumph with a 20 foot birdie putt at 17.

Scores: Quarter-finals: Marchbank lost to Nesbit 3 and 2; Devine lost to Harper 7 and 6; Hamilton bt M Lee 3 and 1; Hair lost to Dinwiddie 2 and 1.

Semi-finals: G Nesbit lost to J Harper 3 and 2; H Hamilton bt R Dinwiddie 1 up.

Final: Harper bt Hamilton 3 and 1.

LADY captain at Bedale GC Liz Stubbs was blessed with fine weather for the big event on her calendar - the Lady Captain's Day.

The main competition was played over 18 holes in a stableford format with a 7/8 handicap allowance, the second competition was a six-hole round with irons played off white tees for the silver division and yellow tees for bronze while the day was rounded off with a putting competition. Results were:

Ladies Captain's prize: J Standen 36pts.

Gross prize: S Mayman 83.

Past Captains' prize: M Hill 32.

Silver Div: J French 35, S Shepherd 34, J Harvey 33. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.