Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

SCHOOL ZONE; Ridgeview Senior to Help Register Voters

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

SCHOOL ZONE; Ridgeview Senior to Help Register Voters

Article excerpt

Byline: Toi Jefferson, Clay County Line staff writer

Ridgeview High School senior Alysa Carmichael has created a voter-registration drive for her senior project. She is spearheading a school district initiative to "pre-register to vote" seniors at Clay County's five public high schools. Students can register when they turn 17 and they will receive voter-registration cards when they turn 18.

The initiative has the support of Clay County Supervisor of Elections Barbara Kirkman and Superintendent David Owens, who recently met with Carmichael. The Elections Office has been going to schools for many years to educate students about the voting process and to conduct class elections. But the state now mandates that all supervisors establish a cooperative effort with school systems to conduct non-partisan voter education in every high school. Carmichael's initiative, Kirkman said, will help Clay comply with those requirements.


The following students at Orange Park Junior High earned straight A's for the second quarter:

Seventh grade --***Efrosini Artikis, Victoria Beard, Bret Brammer, Derek Buben, Julia Butler, Julieta Castillo, Lindsay Church, Paul DelPizzo, Rachel Ferfecki, London Hardin, Sean Hayes, Sarah Herrera, Ashley Horn, Kasim Issa, Teria Jennings, Zakavia Johnson, Phillip Lichlyter, Emily Loefgren, Christina Martorano, Jessica Mathes, Dominque Mathis, Steven Mendoza, Michael Zachary Mezera, Audrey Moore, Michael Mulligan, Dahn Nguyen, Kelly Nix, Leslie Oxford, Kristen Papa, Samantha Pease, Calin Rhatigan, Chandler Ruterbusch, Paige Salvin, Garrett Soileau, Chantel Solis, Casey Street, Kara Thomas and Christopher Wiggins.

Eighth grade -- Heather Atienza, Ashley Buben, Nicholas Butler, Paul Chakkaphak, Laura Clark, Heather Cofield, Tymothe Connaughton, Leonard DeLeon, Hilary Denney, Kevin Encarnacion, Michael Farinella, Ryan French, Jon Hamilton, Gunnar Hanson, David Hon, Kathleen Lowans, Mikaela Sandrik, Joseph Satchwell, Sheanalyn Shawver, Bryce Simes, Sarah Taylor and Logan Thomas.


The following students at Middleburg Elementary earned straight A's

for the second quarter:

Third grade -- Jordan Archer, Wesley Bennetheum, Jacob Bolena, Aly Gilvary, Dallas McCafferty and Austin Waldron. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.