Newspaper article Evening Chronicle (Newcastle, England)

Taylor Test for Platt

Newspaper article Evening Chronicle (Newcastle, England)

Taylor Test for Platt

Article excerpt

Staffordshire qualifier David Platt has been given the unenviable task of being Phil 'The Power' Taylor's first-round opponent in the World Championship, which starts on Monday, December 19.

Platt, set to make his second appearance at Purfleet's Circus Tavern after being one of 16 players to make it through the qualifying event in Hull, will be the first man to try to prevent Taylor from increasing his number of world titles to 13.

They will step up to the oche on the opening night of the tournament when 2003 winner John Part, one of only three men ever to have beaten Taylor in a World Championship, also begins his campaign against China's Liu Cheng'An.

Top seed Colin Lloyd received one of the tougher draws as he will face former Skybet World Grand Prix quarter-finalist Gary Welding, who beat ex-world champions John Lowe and Keith Deller to earn a place among the 64-man field.

In a repeat of last year's quarter-final, Bob Anderson takes on Andrew 'The Hammer' Hamilton, while fifth seed Peter 'One Dart' Manley goes up against Cambridge left-hander Kevin Spiolek, who knocked out Taylor in 1993 but has been away from big-time darts for a while.

The first round draw (prefix denotes seeding) is:

(1) Colin Lloyd (Eng) v Gary Welding (Eng), (32) Darren Webster (Eng) v Erwin Extercatte (Ned), (16) Lionel Sams (Eng) v John Kuczynski (USA), (17) Steve Beaton (Eng) v Jan van der Rassel (Ned), (8) Andy Jenkins (Eng) v Patrick Bulen (Bel), (25) James Wade (Eng) v Wayne Jones (Eng), (9) Denis Ovens (Eng) v Geoff Wylie (NIrl), (24) Alan Caves (Eng) v Steve Alker (Wal), (5) Peter Manley (Eng) v Kevin Spiolek (Eng), (28) Steve Maish (Eng) v Jason Clark (Eng), (12) Mark Walsh (Eng) v Warren Parry (Nzl), (21) Dennis Smith (Eng) v Mark Salmon (Wal), (4) Roland Scholten (Ned) v Dave Whitcombe (Eng), (29) Jamie Harvey (Sco) v Tomas Seyler (Ger), (13) Dennis Priestley (Eng) v John Magowan (NIrl), (20) Adrian Lewis (Eng) v Dave Honey (Eng), (2) Phil Taylor (Eng) v David Platt (Eng), (31) Matt Clark (Eng) v Ken Woods (Can), (15) Terry Jenkins (Eng) v Jimmy Mann (Eng), (18) Bob Anderson (Eng) v Andrew Hamilton (Eng), (7) Kevin Painter (Eng) v Dale Newton (Eng), (26) Wes Newton (Eng) v Yasuhiko Matsunaga (Jpn), (10) Mark Dudbridge (Eng) v Darin Young (USA), (23) Alex Roy v Alan Tabern (Eng), (6) Wayne Mardle (Eng) v Brian Roach (Aus), (27) Erik Clarys (Bel) v Winston Cadogan (Bar), (11) John Part (Can) v Liu Cheng'An (Chn), (22) Chris Mason (Eng) v Steve Hine (Eng), (3) Ronnie Baxter (Eng) v Ray Carver (USA), (30) Colin Monk (Eng) v Andy Smith (Eng), (14) Alan Warriner-Little (Eng) v Andree Welge (Ger), (19) Dave Askew (Eng) v Gerry Convery (Can). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.