Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Three from Clay Place among Top of Miss Senior High Contestants

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Three from Clay Place among Top of Miss Senior High Contestants

Article excerpt


They didn't win first prize, but three Clay County high school girls were among the top winners in the Miss Senior High scholarship pageant held recently at the Florida Theatre.

Fleming Island High School's Ashleigh Grant was first runner-up, Orange Park's Ashley Lake was second runner-up, and Ridgeview's Julia Bennett was third runner-up. The overall winner was Kara Barger of Fletcher High School in Jacksonville Beach.

The girls were among 25 pageant winners from local high schools who were judged on their interview skills, sports wear, talent, evening wear and a speech. The 25-year-old pageant is sponsored by the First Coast Woman's Club.


The Greater Jacksonville Chapter of the American Association for Medical Transcription recognized three of its members for outstanding service and leadership in 2005.

Jeanne Neinhuis won the chapter's Lifetime Contribution Award. Kristin Wall was named Member of the Year and Carmen Tyler won the President's Award. The awards were presented at the chapter's annual symposium held Oct. 18 at Flagler Hospital.


Artist Dee Roberts won best of show for her acrylic painting she calls Forms at The Art Guild of Orange Park's annual juried fine art exhibition.

Faith Wolf placed second for her painting Portals of Magic and Carolyn Day placed third for her hand-colored photograph, Savannah Arrangement.

Honorable mentions went to Connie Pratt for her watercolor The Ravines;

Anita Walker for her painting Sanibel; Rebecca Hight for her watercolor The Bay at Dusk; Mardie Crowe for her watercolor Flower Bower; Toni Charneco for her collage Hope, John Paul II -- The Man of the Century and Yolanda Bosworth for her untitled clay wall hanging.

The judge was Don Trousdell, an award-winning St. Augustine artist.


Four Clay County residents were on the Columbia College's dean's list for the August 2005 session.

They are Tracy Connell, Michelle Cyr, Donald Draper and Laurie Ipar, each of whom has completed 12 semester hours with a grade point average of 3. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.