Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Community Notebook; Boy with Cystic Fibrosis Describes Challenges He Faces

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Community Notebook; Boy with Cystic Fibrosis Describes Challenges He Faces

Article excerpt


Christopher Moore, 12, of the Westside, was the guest speaker at a recent Cystic Fibrosis Foundation event at the Morocco Shrine Center.

Moore spoke to patrons at the kickoff dinner for the foundation's seventh annual Shoot for a Cure fundraiser and described the challenges he faces living with cystic fibrosis.

The fundraiser, a sporting clays event, raised $79,000 this year for the foundation, according to a news release.


American Legion Post 137 on the Westside awarded American Legion School Medals recognizing qualities such as courage, leadership, patriotism and scholarship to one boy and one girl each from 31 Westside schools: Dexter Beaton and Carlicia Thomas, Annie R. Morgan Elementary; Andrew Rebman and Ellen Lambert, Baldwin Middle-Senior High; Ashton Harris and Domonique Jackson, Bayview Elementary; Jason Hogan and Rhea Finn, Biltmore Elementary; Christopher Thomas and Dallas Meyers, Cedar Hills Elementary; Justin Couch and Rhadisha Scurry, Central Riverside Elementary; Christian Gentolia and Isabella Cruz, Chimney Lakes Elementary; Kyle Stovall and Madelyn Wilson, Crystal Springs Elementary; Kevin Baker and Raney Rutland, Ed White High; Ryan Widgen and Madison Shutters, Fishweir Elementary; Juan Soriano and Chanel Gourdine, Gregory Drive Elementary; Cedric Bell and Leah Thompson, Hyde Grove Elementary; Aaron Barrera and Liza Tan, Jefferson Davis Middle; Christopher Catoe and Catherine Enguerra, Joseph Stilwell Middle; Joseph Griffin and Breanna Christopher, Mamie Agnes Jones Elementary; Jason Grim and Donna Brady, Forrest High; Jonathan Hunt and Ngoc Vo, Normandy Village Elementary; Derek Betts and Katurah Mann, Norwood Elementary; Austin Cooper and Nia Jackson, Oak Hill Elementary; Camren Alvarez and Anela Mujanic, Ortega Elementary; Raymond Santos and Sarrin Hayes, Palm Avenue Exceptional Student Center; Corey Portnoy and Camille Mallari, Paxon School for Advanced Studies; Preston Phillips and Taylor Griffis, Pickett Elementary; Noe Ramirez and Leslie Bryant; Ramona Boulevard Elementary; Samuel Louis and Sierra Benthone, Reynolds Lane Elementary; Joey Umstead and Toree Jones, Ruth Upson Elementary; Samuel Smith and Alexus Deyamport, Stonewall Jackson Elementary; Dajour Isaac and Kaitlin Neeld, Timucuan Elementary; Danny Harner and Chyanne Hampton, Venetia Elementary; Dorian Griffin and Yatianna K. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.