Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Police Athletic League Offering a Major League Soccer Camp

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Police Athletic League Offering a Major League Soccer Camp

Article excerpt

Byline: Wesley Mitchell

The Police Athletic League is offering a Major League Soccer camp that begins about a month from now.

Registration is open for kids ages 9 and older to participate in the weeklong day camp July 9-13. Goalkeepers will have a separate three-day camp July 10-12. Players typically receive a T-shirt, soccer ball, evaluation, gift and free companion ticket to an MLS game.

Don't wait until the last second, because the camps fill up fast. To find out more information about prices and other camps/sports the PAL offers, contact Officer Thomas Waarum at 854-6555.


The Lady Adrenaline U-10 girl's soccer team won the 2008 Florida State Championship Sunday in Ocala after they didn't allow one goal against them in competition.

The team is part of the Greater Arlington Soccer Club and is now qualified for the USSSA Soccer National Championships in Las Vegas in December.

Team members are Ana Lopez, Kiana Mallinson, Lianne Mananquil, Kennedy Masse, Mandy McGlynn, Madison Murnin, Haley Patton, Lindsey Patton, Jordan Torrance, Lauren Whaley, Brogan Boudreaux, Angeline Daly and Samantha Parsons. Coaches are Glen Connelly, John Long and Shannon McGlynn.

"The coaches and parents could not be any more proud of a young group of girls," said coach Glen Connelly. "We would like to thank Jack Bernard and Joel Hembrock of the Greater Arlington Soccer Club for their continued support."

The Lady Adrenaline are looking for two more players who fall into the U-11 age group to help compete at Nationals. Call 813-5004 or e-mail for more information.


The 2007-08 National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Adidas high school girls winter rankings has released the final rankings from the season, and The Bolles School's girls soccer team is ranked ninth.

The soccer team finished with a 27-1-1 record on the season and won the 3A state championship.

With only two seniors leaving the team, it looks to compete for another state title and another season-ending national ranking.

Team members are Heather Allen, Sophia Array, Taylor Ashourian, Rebecca Chandler, Allie Gerry, Carly Hazelip, Christianna Hazelip, Kristina Morris, Morgan O'Hare, Laura Jane Powell, Gabby Ragazzo, Eilis Ryan, Elizabeth Smith, Emma Smith, Hannah Stone, Brooke Thigpen, Taylor Thigpen, Caroline Triglia and Lizzie Williams. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.