Newspaper article The Daily Mercury (Mackay, Australia)

St Patrick's Fetes Standard Bearers of Fresh New Year

Newspaper article The Daily Mercury (Mackay, Australia)

St Patrick's Fetes Standard Bearers of Fresh New Year

Article excerpt

MACKAY'S St Patricks' College has invested 21 students into leadership positions during Mass at St Patrick's Catholic church on River Street.

Fellow students, teachers, parents and friends attended the ceremony during which certificates and badges were presented by principal Eamon Hannan.

The students were also blessed by college chaplain Fr Andrew Chase.

The 21 students will work together as a leadership team for the college community in 2010.

The leadership team is College captains Rebecca Burchill, Amy Conroy, Corey Fordyce and James Waters. Supporting the college captains are committee chairs, Christopher Brinkmann for Christian leadership; Kate Jackson for community service, Ryan Kennedy for cultural; Erin Carroll for publicity and Olivia Green for sport. Joining the college captains and the committee chairs were student council members including Chloe Blomfield, Domanii Cameron, Adam Davidson, Sean Heckenberg, Taylor Ing, David Pace, Brendan Shepherd and Constance Strutynski

During Mass the student members of the school board for 2010 were also recognised.

The student board representatives for 2010 are Trent Bourke, Nina Kelly, Jesse McLellan and Michelle Ruhl

Following Mass recipients of the McGarry Bursaries were presented with awards.

A bequest by the late Miss Joan McGarry established perpetual bursaries to be presented each year to St Patrick's College students.

The trust was established in honour of Miss McGarry's parents, the late Fred and Rose McGarry and her brother, the late Jim McGarry.

Complying with bequest guidelines bursaries were awarded for academic and sporting achievement and social justice.

As well, in recognition of Joan McGarry's lifelong dedication to her profession of nursing, students with the highest OP entering nursing also received a bursary.

The intention of the bequest is that students receive the bursary once properly enrolled in a tertiary course after Year 12, with their study course to commence in the year of the bequest. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.