T-U Staff Win 12 Sunshine Awards; Honors Go to Every Area, from Reporting to Photography

Article excerpt

The Florida Times-Union staff won 12 awards - including first-place honors for the newspaper's pieces on police shootings and childhood depression - in the 2010 Sunshine State Awards.

The contest is sponsored by the South Florida Society of Professional Journalists. The awards announced Saturday night went to every part of the newsroom, including reporting, page design and photography.

"These awards recognize what our readers already know, that the journalists of The Times-Union and Jacksonville.com produce some terrific journalism that makes a difference in our community," said Times-Union Editor Frank Denton. "The overall effect of these folks' work, in print and online, is what makes our journalism work so well."

Photographer Jon M. Fletcher won two awards. He won first place in the photo illustration category for his look at childhood depression and took third place in feature photography.

Reporter Matt Galnor's in-depth look at police-involved shootings in Jacksonville took first place in the criminal law reporting category.

Sports writer Michael DiRocco won second place in a feature writing category for his humorous look at everyday things Florida Gator superstar Tim Tebow does poorly. Photographer Rick Wilson netted a second-place award in a breaking news category for his shot of a waterspout that emerged from the St. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.