Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Green Flag: News and Notes

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

Green Flag: News and Notes

Article excerpt


The first class for the NASCAR Hall of Fame was enshrined in May. Now it's time for the sport to vote for next year's inductees.

A list of 25 nominees for the Class of 2011 will be announced Thursday night.

Certain to be included as nominees are Darrell Waltrip, David Pearson, Cale Yarborough, Lee Petty, Ned Jarrett, Raymond Parks, Fireball Roberts, Curtis Turner, Joe Weatherly, Glen Wood, Richard Childress, Rick Hendrick, Herb Thomas, Tim Flock, Buck Baker, Benny Parsons, Red Byron and Bud Moore.

Richard Petty, Bill France Sr., Bill France Jr., Junior Johnson and Dale Earnhardt were the first five inducted. All were easy first-ballot winners.

Allison, Waltrip, Yarborough and Pearson are heavy favorites to be voted in by a panel created by NASCAR. Those four combined to win 356 races and 10 championships.

The fifth and final spot likely will come down to Moore (63 wins as a driver and two championships as a car owner), Lee Petty (three-time series champion), Childress and Hendrick (both with 11 championships in Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck series).

The 25-man nomination list will be revealed on Speed at 8 p.m.


Jimmie Johnson's plan to be with his wife, Chandra, for the birth of their first child went into operation last weekend at New Hampshire Motor Speedway and will continue this Saturday for the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway.

Aric Almirola will be ready on pit road if Johnson's wife goes into labor during the race. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.