Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

This Week

Newspaper article The Florida Times Union

This Week

Article excerpt



Where: Daytona International Speedway at Daytona Beach

When: 7:30 p.m. Saturday.

Track dimensions: 2.5-mile tri-oval with 31-degree banking.

Broadcast: Television - TNT, 6:30 p.m.; Radio - Motor Racing Network, Sirius Satellite Radio 128, 6:30 p.m.

Race format: 160 laps.

Last year's winner: Tony Stewart.

Records: Qualifying - 210.364 mph by Bill Elliott in 1987; Race - 173.473 mph by Bobby Allison in 1980.

Track schedule: Thursday, practices 2 p.m. and 5:30 p.m.; Friday, pole qualifying, 4 p.m. (Speed).

Notes: This is a rare impound race in which teams cannot work on or practice the cars following pole qualifying. ... Tony Stewart has won three of the past four 400-mile races, but he's still looking for his first win in the Daytona 500. ... The Grand Am Series will conduct a 70-lap race on the road course at 11 a.m. in a rare same-day doubleheader. Practice for the Brumos Porsche 250 is Friday at 8 a.m. and qualifying is at 11:15 a.m. ... The 400-mile race will be the last on the old pavement. On Sunday, crews will start a repaving project. ... Turner Broadcasting will be making history by televising the race on DirecTV and in 3-D. Viewers will need special 3-D glasses.

Up next: The 400 is July 10 at Chicagoland Speedway.


1. Kevin Harvick***2,489

2. Jimmie Johnson***2,384

3. Kyle Busch******2,328

4. Denny Hamlin***2,304

5. Jeff Gordon******2,302

6. Kurt Busch******2,288

7. Matt Kenseth***2,204

8. Jeff Burton******2,159

9. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.