Newspaper article Daily News (Warwick, Australia)

Awards for Warriors Cap off a Great Year

Newspaper article Daily News (Warwick, Australia)

Awards for Warriors Cap off a Great Year

Article excerpt

WATTLES Rugby League Club's 2011 season came to a halt on Sunday at Toowoomba's Clive Berghofer Stadium when they were beaten 36 to 14 by Valleys in the Toowoomba Rugby League Reserve Grade Preliminary final.

Wattles also fared well at the TRL annual season presentations on Friday evening.

Award winners included Anthony McIntosh Co most tries in reserve grade; Dale Dempsey and Jeff Nielson Co both named in the WIN TV Rising Star Team; Luke Baker Co named in the Chronicle/S and K. Drilling Team of the Year, Heather Hoey Co taking out the TRL Best Trainer award and Wattles' Secretary Angela Van Der Poel Co TRL Club Person of the Year.

Wattles Junior Rugby League Club players, parents and supporters gathered at Platz Oval on Saturday evening for their annual awards.

Perpetual awards went to Dale McAntee Co Muller Family Trophy, Clubman of the Year; Tim Sharpe Co the Ruhle Family Trophy for Most Dedicated Player; Callum Duncan Co the Boxer Byrne Encouragement Award and Debbie Meddleton Co the Rod Frahm Memorial Trophy, Volunteer of the Year.

Wattles Juniors Player of the Year trophy was won jointly by Nicholas Van Der Poel and Max Somes.

Club President of six years Paul Morris was presented with Life Membership of Wattles Juniors in recognition of his outstanding service.

Team awards: Under 7 Co Best and Fairest: Darcy Minnikin, Most Improved: Jed Esson and Michael Shingles. Under 8 Co Best and Fairest: Michael Duncan, Most Improved: Jackson Pogany. Under 9 Co Best and Fairest: Jack Bashford, Most Improved: Hunter Hamblin. Under 10 Co Best and Fairest: Tyler Gillam, Best Back: Regan Eastwell, Best Forward: William Flynn, Most Improved: Nathan Gibson. Under 11 Co Best and Fairest: Dylan Hounslow-Cullen, Best Back: Lachlan Henry, Best Forward: Christopher O'Neil, Most Improved: Jacob Blades. Under 12 Co Best and Fairest: Jake Ranger, Best Back: Tanner Aldridge, Best Forward: Co Thomas Duggan, Most Improved: Stewart Henderson. Under 13 Co Best and Fairest: Matthew Timbs, Best Back: Paul Christensen, Best Forward: James Moore, Most Improved: Jack Bannister. Under 14 Co Best and Fairest: Joseph Morris, Best Back: Evan Lack, Best Forward: Dalton Nielsen, Most Improved: Thomas Ryan. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.