Take Care of Your Timeline Management; Opinion

Article excerpt

Byline: Luke Browell

THERE has been controversy and confusion surrounding the announced changes to popular social media website Facebook with particular regards to the Timeline and the effects this will have on privacy and user visibility.

The Timeline - a new look for people's profile pages - has until recently been voluntary. Now, however, it will be mandatory for everyone, rendering a user's entire Facebook history available for viewing by visitors.

Photos, statuses and other content categorised by the year and month they were uploaded are now more visible, making a person's entire social media lifespan available to browse.

But there is no need for panic. Despite an introduction fraught with misconception it is important to understand that individuals' privacy settings will remain unaltered by the arrival of the Timeline. Only the manner in which they are viewed has changed.

The information available will be the same content which has been volunteered throughout the years, the deal-changer is that it is now easier to comprehend the scale of what we as individuals are broadcasting.

Some Facebook users are discovering undesirable consequences to the reshuffle. For example, posts and photos from a person's profile five years ago will now be easier to consume - content that may no longer be acceptable to an individual's evolving employment or lifestyle. However, Facebook privacy settings are now in fact more secure than ever - a user is able to specifically assign access to aspects of their uploaded content. Facebook has become increasingly flexible and allows the grouping of friends by what one wishes them to see and by assigning individual items of content to be viewable by specific persons. …