Newspaper article Evening Gazette (Middlesbrough, England)

Cowpen Are Spot on in Shoot-Out to Secure Sunday Cup Progress

Newspaper article Evening Gazette (Middlesbrough, England)

Cowpen Are Spot on in Shoot-Out to Secure Sunday Cup Progress

Article excerpt

STOCKTON SUNDAY LEAGUE LAST weekend saw a number of teams playing in the third preliminary round of the Durham Sunday Cup and the first round of the North Riding Sunday County Cup.

Seven teams were in action in the Durham Sunday Cup, as George and Dragon (Yarm) were knocked out by Sunderland RCA Grangetown Florist, while Billingham Cowpen Club scraped through to the next round with a penalty shootout win over Seaham The Island following a 1-1 draw in extratime.

Portrack were also taken to extra time at Burnhopefield Hobson Golf before eventually winning 6-3 thanks to a hattrick from Martin Woodhouse and one apiece for Ian Thompson, Mark Robinson and Taylor Sterling-Sharp.

Norton George and Dragon enjoyed a fine 6-1 win at home to Spennymoor Salvin Arms, while Norton WMC won 2-0 at Pelaw Grange Dogs, thanks to efforts from Norman Fowler and Jake Young.

The Royal were 5-2 winners at home to Bishop Auckland Bay Horse, with two goals from Marlon Balechi and one each for Mark Ferguson, Andrew Blackburn and Gareth Poole.

And Norton Red Lion had a narrow 4-3 win at home to Sunderland Vane Arms with goals for Christian Selby, Matthew Watson, Josh Dowsland and an own goal.

Both Stockton sides were successful in the North Riding Sunday County Cup, with Village Park Rangers enjoying a 6-3 win at Park End and Thornaby Meerkats defeating The Highfield 7-2. Rangers' goals came via a David Wilkinson hat-trick, a brace for Dale Fawcett and one from Gavin Robson, while Peter Barnes netted five times for the Meerkats, with Lee O'Toole and Richard Walker bagging one more each.

Results Premier Division: South Bank 3 (Sean Harland 2, og) Billingham Cons 5 (Andrew Jennings 3, Ryan Chan, Steven Pickard); Stockton West End 2 (Clark Peacock, Martin Barwick) Hardwick Social Club 7. Division One: Billingham The Merlin 2 Roseworth Social 3; Layfield Arms 7 (Arron Brookbanks 2, Ben Manuel, Benjamin Kerry 3, Stephen Brookbanks) Billingham The Kings 5 (Bradley Heads, John Smith, Michael Walkington 2, Neil McGuren); Stockton Red Lion 3 Sun Inn 2. Division Two: Billingham 0 Thornaby Aerodrome Club 3 (Louie Dunning, Scott Lambe 2); Blytheholme 1 (Alex Frew) Eaglescliffe Bazookas 1; St Mary's College 0 Rimswell 2 (Curtis Howden, Daniel Seaman); Thornaby Roundel 1 (Kieran Campbell) Fairfield Sports & Social Club 5 (Chris Johnson, Daniel Horsley 2, John Heald, Tom Beattie); Thornaby Sports & Leisure 4 (Daniel Bennett, Jack Walton 2, Matthew Dalton) The Oxbridge 2. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.