Newspaper article Daily Examiner (Grafton, Australia)

Dive in to Win Yamba Swim; Handicap Surf Event Held Every Sunday

Newspaper article Daily Examiner (Grafton, Australia)

Dive in to Win Yamba Swim; Handicap Surf Event Held Every Sunday

Article excerpt

Byline: Kerry Lee


Saturday 17th, 9am-1pm, Patrol 7

Brent Sahlqvist, Josh Ryan, Joe Dougherty, Andrew Bell, Joe O'Keefe, Zac Robison, Cassie Maria, Angela Eke, Hannah Smith, Josh Robinson, Billy Holloway, Morgan Holloway.

Saturday 17th, 1-5pm, Patrol 8

Pat Ridgway, Jim Wheeler, Linda Horton, Caitlin Cooney, Patrick De Billot, Ed McGrath, Helmut Klein, Sue-Ellen Hyne, Melinda Whitehouse, Colleen Hage, Chelsea Bridges, Emmerson Anderson.

Sunday 18th, 9am-1pm, Patrol 9

Harry Fahey, Kealy Day, Jack Morrissey, Marty Rose, Chloe Willemsen, Rachel Fahey, Lucy Bindon, Rhys Comerford, Tarni Forbes, Will Pitkin, Charlie Bindon.

Sunday 18th, 1-5pm, Patrol 10

Andrew Morris, Tony McFarlane, James Brodin, Teagan McFarlane, Sally Gilbert, Bella Gilbert, Ben Webster, Darby Essex, Elaina Cormick, Brianna McFarlane.

THE Carl Schaffer Memorial Handicap Swim is held at Yamba's Main Beach every Sunday and on public holidays.

Registrations for this popular free weekly surf swim are at 11am with the swim starting at 11.30am.

Co-ordinated by Belinda Sanders, each week a course is set depending on conditions with competitors entering the surf from the beach, swimming out past the breakers and around two buoys before returning to the beach to finish.

There were plenty of starters last weekend with 34 competitors taking on the tough conditions.

First place went to Jake Beaumont off a handicap of 160 seconds. Also off 160 seconds was second place-getter Georgia Strain, with Joe Dougherty, off 220 seconds, third.

A small team of dedicated Yamba Surf Club members are making the long journey down to Mollymook to compete in the 2015 Country Championships on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Jim Dougherty, Todd Ives and Will Pitkin are competing in the senior competition and Kalani Ives, Yasmin, Malik and Jorden Elabbasi, Ava and Lilli Young, Harry Whitehouse and Gracie Pitkin are competing in the junior events. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.