Newspaper article Sunshine Coast Daily (Maroochydore, Australia)

Maroochy Rivers' Redemption Shot

Newspaper article Sunshine Coast Daily (Maroochydore, Australia)

Maroochy Rivers' Redemption Shot

Article excerpt


MAROOCHY River, surprisingly beaten in last year's final, gets another chance for glory after thrashing Mt Coolum in an A-Grade pennant semi-final at Cooroy on Sunday. The win sets up a clash with the in-form young Noosa team in the final on Saturday week.

Maroochy River's No.1 player Matt Gill set up the 6.5-0.5 win over Mt Coolum when he beat Lochie Coleborn 3 and 1.

Other winners for Maroochy River were David Grenfell, Rory Turner, Shane Wilkinson, Bailey Murchie and Wade Stockill. Luke Parker finished all square with Mt Coolum's Jack Elsley in their match.

Noosa beat reigning premiers Headland 4-3 to earn the right to take on Maroochy River in the final at Twin Waters. In B grade competition, a 3.5-3.5 draw with Noosa was enough to get Peregian through to the final, where it will take on Mt Coolum. The remarkable young squad from Noosa Springs went on their winning way - taking down Maroochy River 2 by a comfortable 3-0 margin - to set up a final clash with Noosa 2 in Juniors.

The all-girl team of Sunday Moore, Samantha Dryden and Jasmine Lena have won seven of eight matches to dominate this year's competition. Noosa Springs will also contest the Masters final after beating Cooroy 4-3 on Sunday. They will take on Maroochy River.

Chance to play

SOME spots in the morning field for the Men's Sunshine Coast Open Amateur Championship remain available. About 200 golfers will line up at Headland over the Easter weekend, including some of the best players in Southeast Queensland. Twenty players with a handicap of scratch or better have entered, including last year's winner Jake Crowther (plus 3), Zach Maxwell (Virginia - plus 4), Lochie Coleborn (Mt Coolum - plus 3), Dan Sheehan (Woodford - plus 2), Graham Hourn (Kingaroy - plus 2), Luke Parker (Maroochy River - plus 2), Alex Wall (Virginia - plus 1), Mitch Toomey (Pacific - plus 1), Blake Perkins (Bargara - plus 1) and Scott Mitchell (Mt Coolum - plus 1). …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.