Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

OKC Events: October 19, 2004

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

OKC Events: October 19, 2004

Article excerpt

Some folks think of apples for the teacher as being red. Not Carol Troy and her committee planning this year's 20th anniversary Wall of Fame Humanitarian Awards.

She's had the invitations printed in Granny Apple green and more than a thousand green apples will be used in the table decorations Oct. 28. The benefit will begin with cocktails at 6:15 p.m., followed by dinner and the program at 7 p.m.

Sponsored by and benefiting the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation, the black-tie dinner at the Marriott Hotel will honor Wallace Johnson, a graduate of Douglass High School; Linda Lambert, who attended Edgemere Elementary School; and Paul B. Odom Jr., a graduate of Capitol Hill High School. The Wall of Fame honors outstanding alumni and community leaders who through their lives have added dramatically to the quality of life in their city and state.

Reservations are $125 per person and Corporate Sponsorships are available. Checks payable to the Oklahoma City Public Schools Foundation may be mailed to 420 NW 13th St., Oklahoma City 73103.

Among those in the Underwriter Category are BancFirst and IBC Bank. Included as Benefactors are Devon Energy Corp., Kerr-McGee Corp., Mustang Fuel Corp., PB Odom III Construction and The Oklahoman. Among those in the Sustainers Category are B.C. Clark Jewelers, SBC, Jeanne Hoffman Smith and Lela and Mark S. Sullivan. Table sponsors include Bank One, The Center for Education Law, Cox Communications, Crowe & Dunlevy, The Facility Group/ADG, Independent Insurance Agents of Greater Oklahoma City, McAfee & Taft, Nadine and Frank McPherson, Hedra and Harry Merson and Potts Exploration.

A champagne reception for major donors is planned Oct. 27 at the home of Laura and Bill Cameron.

Additional committee members include Debbie Anglin, Kathleen Bartlett, Ann Bohanon, Maj. Gen. William Bowden, Marsha Cayton, Drew Dugan, Nancy Ellis, Dorthlynn Gaddis, Stuart Graham, Jane B. Harlow, Joyce A. Henderson, Chris Houk, James D. Hyde, Kristie Jacob, City Councilwoman Willa Johnson, Lou C. Kerr, Karen Luke, Frank A. McPherson, Hedra and Harry Merson, Jacquelyn Moore, Polly Nichols, Russell Perry, Meg Salyer, Sarah Sears, Jeanne Hoffman Smith, Lela Sullivan, Sheriel Waldrop, Helen Wallace, Kathy L. Williams and Charlotte Wilson.

For additional information about reservations or the Public Schools Foundation, call 232-4049.

Debutante presentation

Invitations to the 59th annual Beaux Arts Ball have been mailed and - just a hint - seating is limited. The early checks get the seats, of course. Reservations are $175 per person and checks payable to the Beaux Arts Society Reservation chairman, P.O. Box 20239, Oklahoma City, 73156. Proceeds benefit the Oklahoma City Museum of Art.

The black-tie event , at which a group of young college women make their debut, escorted by a like number of young college men, will take place at 8 p. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.