30 Area High School Students Win Merit Scholarships

Article excerpt

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of 30 St. Louis-area high school students who received $2,000 merit awards in this year's competition.

The students are among about 2,000 seniors nationwide receiving scholarships in the third group of winners announced this year. This group's single-payment awards, which are allocated on a state representational basis, are mostly supported by unrestricted merit program funds. The recipients were chosen from a field of about 14,000 finalists.

The first group of winners - National Merit Achievement awards, and corporate-sponsored scholarship winners - were announced last month. Most college-sponsored scholarship winners will be announced later this month.

Students selected for the scholarship received high scores in 1992 on the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude qualifying Test. They also were recommended by their high school principals or guidance counselors, and a team of national judges chose winners that showed the greatest potential for success in college and afterward.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp. is an independent, nonprofit organization that has been awarding scholarships since 1955. The scholarships are financed by about 600 independent organizations throughout the country.

Following are this area's winners, listed by high school. Awards are supported by unrestricted merit program funds, including grants from corporate and business organizations, unless otherwise noted: BELLEVILLE WEST

DAVID T. POTERE, 18, son of Lt. Col. Thomas P. and Gay Lee Potere of Swansea. Potere will attend Harvard University and major in applied mathematics and physics. High school awards and activities include: Illinois State Scholar; varsity and junior varsity state debate champion; Eagle Scout; varsity cross country; state science fair qualifier; Century III Leadership national recipient. CLAYTON

MARTHA J. PARK, 18, daughter of Dr. Tae Sung Park and Hyun Sook Kim of Clayton. Park will attend Harvard University and major in American literature. High school awards and activities include: cultural awareness club founder and president; Leaf president; community service club president; literary magazine editor; field hockey; history day state winner; student government secretary.

SARAH A. BIERMAN, 18, daughter of Sidney and Marilyn Bierman of Richmond Heights. Bierman will attend Columbia University and major in biological research and education. High school awards and activities include: community service club vice president of program coordination; Yale book award; high school outreach program; United Synagogue Youth chapter president; basketball team; peer teacher; spirit club; cultural awareness club. EDWARDSVILLE

KERITH L. LUCCO, 17, daughter of Bill and Susan Lucco of Edwardsville. Lucco plans to attend Stanford University and major in biology. High school awards and activities include: co-valedictorian; band; stage band; orchestra; all-state band; drama club; International Thespian Society; math team; Junior Engineering Technical Society team; Appalachia service project. FORT ZUMWALT SOUTH

DAVID E. SAFF, 17, son of Charles and Betty Saff of St. Peters. Saff will attend Washington University and major in computer science. High school awards and activities include: valedictorian; band; speech team; Quiz Bowl team; math team; church youth group leadership team; junior class treasurer; Missouri Scholars' Academy. HORTON WATKINS

DANIELLE E. McCARTHY, 18, daughter of Dr. John and Teri McCarthy of Frontenac and Jack Kennebeck of Frontenac. McCarthy's award is sponsored by BP America Inc. She plans to attend Yale University. High school awards and activities include: faculty and community committee co-chairperson; student congress; French club activities co-director; St. Louis Effort for AIDS volunteer; student director and playwright; drama club and thespian troupe vice president; sixth-grade camp counselor. …