New Environmental Quality Commission Appoints Nine Members

Article excerpt

Nine people have been appointed to St. Charles County's new Commission on Environmental Quality.

The commission was established late in June to replace a Solid Waste Task Force formed in 1994. No date has been set for the commission to meet and to organize.

County Executive Joe Ortwerth recommended formation of the commission early last summer. He said in June that the county's rapid growth had produced "significant demands on the natural resources of the area." He said that safeguarding the environment "is long overdue. We haven't done that." Ortwerth appointed the members, and the County Council approved the appointments last week. Each of the council's seven districts will have one representative on the panel, and two people will be members at large. The members are: * Tim Wathen of St. Peters, 1st District. He is the business and industry specialist for the University of Missouri Extension Service. He has a bachelor's degree in marketing management and economics from Southeast Missouri State University and a master's degree in business from the University of Missouri at Columbia. He has been active with the county's Economic Round Table. * Kenneth V. Maki, 2nd District. He is president and owner of Municipal Industrial Enviroservices Co. He has a bachelor's degree in chemistry from the University of Michigan and finished graduate work in physical chemistry and sanitary engineering. His company is a consultant on improving water supply and treating waste water. * G. Thomas Oxler of St. Charles, 3rd District. He is area manager for Southwestern Bell, supervising the engineering office for St. Charles County and parts of St. Louis County. He has a bachelor's degree in engineering technology and a master's degree in engineering management from Central Missouri State University. He was chairman of the Land Use Task Force for the Master Plan 2010 project. * Greg L. Poleski of O'Fallon, 4th District. He is president of the Greenway Network and served as chairman of the Open Space Subcommittee for the Floodplain Vision Committee. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.