Voters Face Flurry of Candidates in County Elections on April 1

Article excerpt

Voters throughout St. Charles County will elect mayors, aldermen, council members, trustees and board members in municipal elections April 1.

Three candidates for mayor are on the ballot in both O'Fallon and Lake Saint Louis. Mayoral candidates also face opposition in Foristell, St. Paul and in West Alton.

Candidates for mayor are unopposed in Cottleville, Portage Des Sioux and Weldon Spring. Also on the ballot are candidates in the five county school districts. Two candidates will be elected in each district. In fire protection districts, two candidates each are vying for one six-year seat in the Cottleville and Wentzville districts. Two candidates are also competing for a term in the St. Charles County Ambulance Districts' subdistrict 1 and 3. Here's a list of candidates running for local office on April 1 from St. Charles County. An asterisk indicates an incumbent. MUNICIPALITIES AUGUSTA Trustees - five to be elected Melvin Fuhr*, 255 Green Street. Edwin Leesmann Jr.*, 5483 Hackman Road. Millard E. Shortt Jr.*, 267 Lower Street. Lee Newman*, 164 Jackson Street. Thomas E. Diehl*, 8 River Bluff Court. Douglas Gonzalez, 185 Jackson Street. COTTLEVILLE Mayor Stephen Kochanski*, 5253 Kochanski. Alderman - Ward 1 Robert A. Hendry*, 98 Round Tower Drive. Michael D. Simpson, 5330 Main Street. Alderman - Ward 2 Terry Hogan*, 1565 Brittany Timber Drive. Michael West, 5222 Cedarfield Drive. DARDENNE PRAIRIE Trustee - two to be elected Marilyn Field, 1537 Henning Road. Second candidate did not file. FLINT HILL Alderman - Ward 1 Russell J. Dickherber, 175 Mexico Road. Alderman - Ward 2 Joyce A. Hussey, P.O. Box 167. FORISTELL Mayor Connie Reed*, 130 Croom. Dawn Hiatte, 3114 Darryl Drive. Alderman - Ward 1 James N. McAliney, 3126 Darryl Drive. Susanne Martin, 167 North Main Street. Alderman - Ward 2 Cheryl A. Davis, 137 Croom Drive. Paul H. Brockmeyer, 136 South Main Street. JOSEPHVILLE Board members - two to be elected No candidates filed; write-ins accepted. LAKE SAINT LOUIS Mayor Ed Hajek*, 1482 Lake Knoll Drive. Patrick J. Englert, 8 Macon Court. T.L. Wahl, 14 Burgundy Drive. Alderman - Ward 1 Joseph R. Cordaro*, 36 Burgundy Drive. Alderman - Ward 2 Darrel R. Hollinger*, 250 Savoy Drive. James E. Lloyd Jr., 5 Edgewater Circle. Alderman - Ward 3 Bob Hammond*, 640 Lakewood Drive. Eva Sketoe, 6 Bowwater Court. Pearson W. Buell, 705 Searlet Oak Drive. NEW MELLE Board members - two to be elected Gary Schneider, 3408 Highway F. John Anderson, P.O. Box 6. O'FALLON Mayor Paul F. Renaud*, 113 North Main Street. James Richard Musgrave, 15 Old Glory. Mary Claire Gorman, 36 Burlington Court. Alderman - Ward 1 Carl Young*, 774 Haven View Court. Roba L. "Buck" Minzer, 233 Strawberry Hill Drive. Virgil W. "Doc" Null, 1207 North Main Street. Alderman - Ward 2 Tom Williams*, 606 Vine Street. Jeffrey M. Bruner, 16 Winding Trails Circle. Alderman - Ward 3 Daniel V. Burngard, 2862 Bromley Drive. James Heet, 58 Rock Church Drive. Alderman - Ward 4 Ken Tunnell*, 202 San Jose Court. PORTAGE DES SIOUX Mayor Mark Warner, 1255 Commonfield Street. Collector/Treasurer Burma Wilkins, 1125 Dumond Street. Alderman - Ward 1 Paul Madison, 1125 Dumond Street. Alderman - Ward 2 Shirley Reiser, 1720 Fourth Street. ST. PAUL Mayor Donald R. Spiegel, 2450 St. Paul Road. Lloyd E. Reeves, 1000 Highway Y. Alderman - Ward 1 Daniel G. Kruse*, 1170 Hackmann Road. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.