HISTORY OF SOUTH AFRICAN LAND DISTRIBUTION POLICY Series: COVER STORY. Africans Reclaim Their Native Land. Second of 2 Articlea Appearing Today

Article excerpt

1913: Union Parliament passes a law reserving about 7 percent of land for black South Africans.

1923: Separate residential areas for blacks are created. Pass laws are instituted.

1927: Parliament passes a law laying foundation for forced removal of blacks by government decree.

1936: Land law adds a further 6 percent of land for blacks, allocating 13 percent of the land for 73 percent of the people.

1948: National Party comes to power.

1950: Group Areas Act creates separate residential areas for mixed-race, coloured, and Indian minorities.

1951: Tribal authorities set up in the black homelands. Prevention of Illegal Squatting Act passed.

1952: Pass laws are drastically tightened.

1955: Massive forced removals under Group Areas Act begin.

1959: Foundation is laid for nominally independent black homelands.

1960: Massive forced removals of black urban and rural communities begin.

1964 and 1968: Pass laws and migrant-labor system further tightened.

1970: Citizenship law allowed all blacks to be stripped of their South African citizenship as black homelands are granted nominal independence. …


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.