Newspaper article Evansville Courier & Press (2007-Current)

Republicans Face off in Primary ; Election Dominated by Conservative Challengers

Newspaper article Evansville Courier & Press (2007-Current)

Republicans Face off in Primary ; Election Dominated by Conservative Challengers

Article excerpt

A light turnout is expected for Tuesday's primary election, but Republican voters have significant decisions before them. Polling places will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Eighth District Rep. Larry Bucshon, a Newburgh Republican who is seeking a third term in Congress, is opposed for the GOP nomination by Andrew McNeil. a resident of Owen County. The only Democrat who has filed is Tom Spangler of Jasper.

In Vanderburgh County, two incumbent Republican officials - County Commissioner Marsha Abell and County Councilman Pete Swaim - have primary challengers.

Bruce Ungethiem, who is best known as a leader of the successful effort to defeat a city-county unification two years ago, is running against Abell. Swaim's opponent is John Montrastelle, a member of the Convention & Visitors Bureau Board of Directors. Voters countywide can participate in the race for County Commissioner, while the County Council race is only for voters who live within District 4.

There are no Democratic Party candidates as yet in either of those races.

Incumbent Center Township Trustee Gary Burdsall, a Republican, faces Teddy Stucki. The winner will be opposed by Democrat Hayden Barth in November's election.

A pair of Republicans also are running for Knight Township trustee. Verly Booher and Billy Garrett will square off, with the winner taking on incumbent Democrat Kathryn Martin in November.

The only contested Democratic Party primaries in Vanderburgh County are for precinct committeeman and state convention delegate. Republicans also have some state convention delegate races.

In the region, there are a few contested primaries.

Two Republicans are seeking the seat of retiring state Sen. Lindel Hume, a Princeton Democrat who represents District 48. The GOP hopefuls are Mark Messmer, a current state representative from Jasper, and Ted Metzger, a Boonville resident. The winner will face Democrat Larry Vollmer of Jasper in November.

In a race for the Indiana House District 63 seat now held by Messmer, Republicans Mike Braun and Richard Moss oppose one another in Tuesday's primary. Both are from Jasper. No Democrat has filed.

Incumbent Warrick County Auditor L. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.