Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

MUNICIPAL NEWS [Derived Headline]

Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

MUNICIPAL NEWS [Derived Headline]

Article excerpt


JVS Environmental and the Moon Environmental Advisory Council will host electronics collection from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday in front of the Moon administration building, 1000 Beaver Grade Road.

Printers, copiers, computers, lap tops and televisions will be accepted. Additional electronic collections will be held Aug. 3 and Oct. 5.

The collections are free and open to residents and businesses in Moon and surrounding communities.


Commissioners voted 5-0 Tuesday to approve a 2013 property tax rate of 2.60 mills -- a decrease of 0.45 mills.

The owner of a home valued at $100,000 will owe $260 this year.

The rate was reduced from 3.05 mills due to Allegheny County reassessments. Whether individual bills rise or fall, compared to 2012, depends on each property valuation.

* * *

Commissioners voted 5-0 Tuesday to enter into a consent order negotiated with Common Pleas Court regarding Steven Victor's proposed residential plan Stafford Park, formerly named Coventry Park.

Under the agreement, roads within the housing development will remain privately owned rather than being transferred to the township, vice chairman Jesse Forquer said.

Stafford Park involves about 42 acres adjacent to Clever Road, across from a township park.


Police officer James Stoker will become the township's newest sergeant following the commissioners' 8-0 approval of his promotion March 26.

Officer Stoker, who will serve a one-year probation in his new role, has been a police officer in Scott since 1999. Before that, he was on the Carnegie police force for five years.

* * *

Manager Denise Fitzgerald was appointed township treasurer, effective April 1. Also approved was an $800 software program from Harris Computer that will add interest charges to delinquent tax bills.

* * *

The following were appointed to the Scott Township Public Library Board of Directors: Laurie Brant, Andrea Wachter, Mark Moore, Sandra Calgaro and Louis Calgaro.

Charles Edeburn, David Seybert, Frank Bruckner, Dean Losego and Brandon Dukes were reappointed to staggered terms on the zoning hearing board.

Also, Ralph Murovich, Mark Mox, John Remensky, Kenneth Lee and William Quinn were reappointed to staggered terms on the planning commission. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.