Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

Scott Voted Top Player

Newspaper article Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Pittsburgh, PA)

Scott Voted Top Player

Article excerpt

Reigning Masters champion Adam Scott narrowly beat out Tiger Woods as the male player of the year in voting by the Golf Writers Association of America.

The GWAA takes into account more than just a player's performance on the PGA Tour. Scott won four times around the world, none bigger than his playoff victory at Augusta National to become the first Australian in a green jacket. He also won a FedEx Cup playoff event and twice in Australia, and he joined Jason Day to win the portion of the World Cup for Australia at Royal Melbourne.

Out of 218 ballots, Scott won by five votes.

"It is an honor to be recognized as the most consistent male golfer of 2013 and it is appreciated to have the respect of the Golf Writers of America. Thank you," Scott said from Kapalua, where he is playing in the Tournament of Champions, which starts today and ends Monday.

Woods won five times on the PGA Tour, including The Players Championship and two World Golf Championships, though he went a fifth consecutive year without winning a major. Woods also won the PGA Tour money title and the Vardon Trophy for the lowest scoring average. Woods won player of the year from the PGA Tour (a vote of players) and PGA of America (based on points). Those awards consider only a player's PGA Tour record. The PGA Tour does not disclose vote totals.


Top-seeded Rafael Nadal is the only seed remaining at the Qatar Open in Doha after he beat seventh-seeded Ernests Gulbis, 7-5, 6-4, in the quarterfinals. Nadal is set to play German qualifier Peter Gojowczyk. Gojowczyk, ranked 162nd, defeated fellow German qualifier Dustin Brown, 6-3, 3-6, 7-6 (5), to reach his first career tour semifinal.

* Serena Williams and Maria Sharapova will renew their long and not-so-friendly rivalry after setting up a semifinal matchup at the Brisbane International in Australia, a key tuneup event for the Australian Open. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.