Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

All-Miaa Football

Newspaper article The Topeka Capital-Journal

All-Miaa Football

Article excerpt

Washburn senior Vershon Moore was a first-team selection as a punt returner on the All-MIAA football team released Tuesday.

Moore, who was also a second-team pick as a running back, averaged 15.6 yards per return and had an 85-yard punt return for a touchdown against Emporia State.

Senior safety Calvin Kenney and sophomore offensive lineman Michael Miller earned second-team honors for the Ichabods.

WU punter Aaron Hummert was named to the third team, while honorable mention went to receiver DaJuan Beard, offensive lineman Dylan Ready, quarterback Mitch Buhler, defensive linemen Trey Parker and Tyler Ewy and cornerback Dwayne Joseph.

Emporia State receiver Austin Willis, a Shawnee Heights product, was a second-team selection for the second straight year. He was joined on the second team by ESU receiver Kavaski Ervin.

The Hornets placed offensive linemen Jarrett Stastny and Aaron Blount and cornerback Deveon Dinwiddie on the third team.

Hayden graduate Jason Tetuan was an honorable-mention pick at linebacker for ESU. Other honorable-mention selections for the Hornets were linebackers Lyndell Johnson, Deshawn Dinwiddie, defensive linemen Nick Schutte and Eddie Vinson, center Dan Goodman and tight end Reese Richards.

Fort Hays State linebacker and Hayden product Alex Schmidtberger also earned honorable mention.

Pittsburg State quarterback Anthony Abenoja was offensive player of the year, Northwest Missouri State defensive end Matt Longacre was defensive player of the year, Pitt State kicker Connor Frazell was special teams player of the year and UCO quarterback Chas Stallard was freshman of the year.

Pittsburg State's Tim Beck was named coach of the year.


Offensive player of the year -- Anthony Abenoja, QB, Pittsburg State.

Defensive player of the year -- Matt Longacre, DL, Northwest Missouri.

Special teams player of the year -- Connor Frazell, K, Pittsburg State.

Freshman of the year -- Chas Stallard, QB, Central Oklahoma.

Coach of the year -- Tim Beck, Pittsburg State.


QB -- Anthony Abenoja, Pittsburg State. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.