Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Oklahoma Main Street Selects Award Finalists

Newspaper article THE JOURNAL RECORD

Oklahoma Main Street Selects Award Finalists

Article excerpt

OKLAHOMA CITY (JR) - The Oklahoma Main Street Center has selected finalists for 21 awards.

Finalists will be honored and the winner announced at the 26th annual Main Street Awards Banquet May 5 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

Each award category falls under one of the four points in the Main Street Approach - organization, promotion, economic restructuring and design. Panels of outside judges for each point review the entries and determine the winners.

The Community of the Year Award will recognize the Main Street Community that led other towns by earning the most quality assurance points during 2014. The top 10 communities (in alphabetical order) include Durant, El Reno, Enid, Guymon, Hobart, Newkirk, Perry, Prague, Pryor and Woodward. The top community will also be announced at the banquet.

The top Main Street program managers will be recognized at the banquet. The finalists include Kelly Tompkins, Main Street Enid Inc.; Melyn Johnson, Main Street Guymon; and Janet Fitz, Woodward Main Street.

Organization finalists are:

- Premier Partner: East Central University, Ada; General Tommy Franks Leadership Institute and Museum, Hobart; and Oklahoma State University Institute of Technology, Okmulgee.

- Best Community Education/Public Awareness: #EmbracetheTrain, Claremore; Turkey Tracker Medallion Hunt, Collinsville; and 3rd Graders Go to Work, Pryor.

- Best Volunteer Development Program: Durant High School Service Learning Project, Durant; Jr. Main Street Program, Hobart; and Newkirk Leadership Class, Newkirk.

- Main Street Hero: Ken Fergeson, Altus; Margaret Hess, Okmulgee; and Norma Jerome, Perry.

- Best Creative Fundraising Effort: Bruin Tailgate Rally, Bartlesville; Food for Thought, Enid; and Pumpkin Palooza/Pumpkin Chunkin' Festival, Hobart.

Promotion finalists are:

- Premier Special Event Under 1,000 Attendees: Historic Ghost Walk, Bartlesville; Downtown Block Parties, El Reno; and Cruise Nights 2014, Wilburton.

- Premier Special Event Over 1,000 Attendees: Bruin Tailgate Rally, Bartlesville; 20th-annual Harvest Spoon Chili Fest, Okmulgee; and 25th-anniversary Route 66 Blowout, Sapulpa. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.