Newspaper article The Tuscaloosa News

UA Recruit Is State's Mr. Football

Newspaper article The Tuscaloosa News

UA Recruit Is State's Mr. Football

Article excerpt

MONTGOMERY | The University of Alabama and West Alabama high school football were well represented at the 2011 Mr. Football Awards Banquet on Wednesday afternoon.

Four Alabama commitments for the 2012 and 2013 classes were honored as the best in their respective classification, including Daphne running back T.J. Yeldon, who took home Class 6A Back of the Year honors as well as the day's biggest prize, Mr. Football.

It was the first time since 2000 (Carnell Williams) that a running back claimed the state's highest honor for a high school football player.

"It means a lot, knowing that you're one of the top guys in the state this year," Yeldon said. "It's just a great feeling for me. Roll Tide."

Yeldon's Daphne teammate Ryan Anderson (both graduated early and are currently enrolled at Alabama) was nominated for 6A Lineman of the Year but lost out to another UA commitment, Reggie Ragland from Bob Jones High School.

Thomasville athlete Tyler Hayes (2012) and Handley offensive lineman Bradley Bozeman (2013) took home Lineman of the Year honors in Class 4A and 3A, respectively.

A pair of West Alabama athletes swept the 1A honors, with Pickens County's DeMarko Hall claiming the Back of the Year award and Linden linebacker Terris Lewis nabbing Lineman of the Year.

"I'm just glad to be here today and to represent my school," Lewis said.

"I'm just glad to win this award and bring it back home because (Linden running back Kendarius) Fritts won it last year, and I'm just glad to bring it back home again to show my junior quarterback, Anthony Robinson, what it takes to win one of these next year."

Robinson finished second to Hall.

American Christian Academy quarterback Austin Grammer finished runner-up to Fultondale athlete ArDarius Stewart by a vote of 76- 62. Grammer completed a stellar high school career, helping the Patriots to the 2A semifinals.

"Well I know there is a lot of top-notch talent in this room, and to be considered among the best of the best is truly a great honor," Grammer said. "It's a big honor to be around some of the talent that is here. All of these guys are deserving of their awards. It feels like a great accomplishment to be here with them."


Back of the Year: Sam Coleman, Edgewood Academy

Lineman of the Year: Nick McLaughlin, Pike Liberal

Class 1A

Back of the Year: DeMarko Hall, Pickens County

Lineman of the Year: Terris Lewis, Linden

Class 2A

Back of the Year: ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale

Lineman of the Year: Bradley Patterson, Red Bay

Class 3A

Back of the Year: Diamond Simmons, Hanceville

Lineman of the Year: Bradley Bozeman, Handley

Class 4A

Back of the Year: Troymaine Pope, Anniston

Lineman of the Year: Tyler Hayes, Thomasville

Class 5A

Back of the Year: Jameis Winston, Hueytown

Lineman of the Year: Chris Rabb, Hueytown

Class 6A

Back of the Year: T. …

Search by... Author
Show... All Results Primary Sources Peer-reviewed


An unknown error has occurred. Please click the button below to reload the page. If the problem persists, please try again in a little while.